Cocktail Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Made exactly as indicated. Wouldn't change a thing. Delicious. You'd never guess grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Love this recipe, different but great. It is a hit with my 9 year old autistic son and husband. I made it many times. I brought it to parties and it was a hit. Highly recommend, because simple and it could be your parties next hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Great recipe, I made the following changes - used 1/2 lb. ground pork + 1/2 lb. ground beef because that's what I had on hand. I made my own fresh bread crumbs. Also, I experimented by cooking half the meatballs in a skillet and baking the other half in the oven for 20 minutes at 350 and then browning those for 2 minutes in the skillet after they had finished cooking. The baked ones turned out better and were less messy. In any case the sauce is crazydelicious, I'm going to start freezing meatballs and keeping grape jelly and chili sauce on hand for cocktail meatball craving emergencies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I made the meatballs, set them aside and then made the sauce. Luckily I waited too taste the sauce before I put the meatballs in, it was not to my liking at all. Just not my taste I guess. I used another sauce recipe. The meatballs were great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
These are OUTSTANDING meatballs, but I cannot bear the sauce. I use them in tomato sauce, and make heros out of them, or I serve them over spaghetti. They freeze very very well after cooking, and if you freeze them individually, it's easy to pull out just 5 or 6 for a quick dinner, heated up in tomato sauce. Honestly, they're terrific! When I use this recipe to make meatloaf instead of the meatballs, I use oatmeal instead of the breadcrumbs, and cook it with 2 slices of bacon on top - 350 degrees for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I doubled the recipe and used one pound ground sirloin and one pound of italian sausage. They were so good. My husband even ate them without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
These were a hit at our neighborhood party and there were no left overs. I'll be making a larger batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I made these meatballs for a fight party and they were not bad, but not good enough to make again. I would rate them as just average. The sauce is missing a couple of spices to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These were a fun retro dish that I made for my daughter's birthday party. All the grown-ups liked them and so did I. I baked the meatballs instead of frying just for health reasons. They were very tasty. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I have made this many times and it is a big hit each time. I double the recipe everytime because there are never enough. I bake them in the oven for approx. 30+/- minutes at 325. I then slowly simmer in sauce for an hour or so before gathering. You really cannot mess these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States