Cocktail Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Perfect meatball recipe! So easy my daughter made these while I was preparing other things for the party. All the guests raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
We thought these were pretty good, but I was hoping for more after going to the trouble of making them. I hate to admit it, but I've found store-bought meatballs that I love - I think I'll stick with them (in the classic chili sauce/cranberry sauce combo)! Thanks for a tasty alternative, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I'm rating the sauce only, and conditional on this being prepared in a slow cooker. But, if done is a slow cooker, yum! If cooked for less time I think the vinegar would be overpowering - at 2 hour I was a little worried. I cooked for 5-6hours on low and it was wonderful! Even better the next day. This is a great recipe that can be altered to use what you have. I used ketchup and some leftover tomato sauce, real chopped onion, and spicy prepared mustard instead of powder. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Excellent, I added an extra 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup Renee's Tangy Thai sauce. I sauted onions for the sauce instead of flakes and added the pepper sauce to the meat, not the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I made the sauce in the stove top and then dropped mini ground chicken balls inside. I made a few changes - I used 2 lbs. of ground chicken instead of 1 and i decreased the oatmeal to about 1/4-1/2 cup (1 cup would make the meatballs too dry and not have the meat texture.) For the sauce - I sauted a fresh onion - (not the dried flakes) and added 1/3 cup white sugar and 1 jar of barilla pasta sauce to the rest of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
MMMMMM VERY good!! We loved these. The only change I made was that I added more hot sauce...about a tablespoon more to the sauce, but it wasn't tabasco sauce. We LOVE things hot and spicy. The rest of the meal I followed the recipe to the T. Thank you for supplying such a wonderful, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I probably shouldn't be reviewing this whole recipe, as I didn't make the actual meatballs. I used another recipe for that. However, the sauce recipe is the best I've ever made for meatballs. It isn't too sweet, like many jelly based sauces. Kind of runny, but that didn't bother me. I put them in the crockpot and let them cook for a few hours. The longer you let them simmer in this sauce, the better they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yummy. My ten year old daughter made these for a family get together. We added some garlic powder, and old bay to the meatballs. They were fantastic and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
We really enjoye these. We made just the sauce for previously frozen meatballs. reduced the vinegar a tad and used a few dashes of cayenne pepper since we didnt have hot sauce. It gve it some kick, but they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPHOP1125

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made these exactly to the recipe and found that the vinegar was extremely over powering. It was the only thing I could smell (even BF asked why the kitchen smelled like vinegar when he came home) and most of what I tasted. I think they would have been much better if I removed it from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States