Cocktail Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Glad I tried this recipe due to rating reviews. Normally I would not have choosen such ingrediants but they have a tangy taste that is delightful. I used frozen meatballs and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I made this recipe using a Thai Chili sauce instead of the recommended one; it came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I thought the vinegar taste was just a bit too strong, but my husband really liked these. I also made double the sauce to make sure the meat was completely covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Council Grove, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Awesome recipe!! I went to this website trying to find a recipe that was exactly like one my husbnd always made, but the recipe has been lost. This one is exactly as I remembered only better by the suggestion of another reviewer. I also sauted a diced onion and chopped garlic in 1/2 stick of butter. I know that sounds like a lot of butter but since I doubled the sauce recipe the butter just adds a lot of richness to this recipe. With the suggestion of the same reviewer I also added about 5 teaspoons of chili powder. I then followed the recipe except I didn't add the water. I doesn't need it if you like a slightly thicker sauce. Even though I didn't follow the recipe to a "T" and added my own touches I still give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Great flavor and sooooo easy. Family loved it. Served it as a main dish over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Loved the sauce. I didn't quite have enough ketchup, so I also added some salsa to the mixture(1/4 cup). I also chopped up sweet onions instead of minced onions which added a great flavor. One of the reviewers recommeded adding cornstarch so the sauce could be thick and I am so glad I did! Next time I make these, I will also double the recipe (especially the sauce) to make meatball sandwiches afterwards. Great idea! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Very tasty! Used for a new years eve function and they were all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I also used pre-cooked meatballs and just made the sauce recipe. I did saute some fresh minced onion and fresh minced garlic in some bacon fat until slightly browned. In that same pan I added about 1-2 tsp of chili powder and toasted that for about 30 seconds. I then added the water, ketchup, vinegar (rice wine), brown sugar, worchestshire, mustard powder and tabasco (I added quite a bit more than the recipe called for but we like it spicy!) to the pan but had the burner off. Mixed it all up and poured over the meatballs in the crockpot. My husband came running just from the wonderful smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These were pretty easy to make however I made the sauce poured it over the meatballs and refridgerated overnight. I then put them in the crockpot. I thought the sauce had too strong of a vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I'm just reviewing the sauce, b/c I used lil' smokies instead of making meatballs. I used an asian hot chili sauce (the kind with the rooster on the front) and it gave it a nice kick. My husband who usually doesn't like ketchup based sauces really gobbled them up! I can't wait to try the meatball recipe. Good sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States