Coal Miners Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Grew up on my mom's pasties. We use Round Steak & Pork shoulder. Carrots, Ohion, Potato. Always eat them with ketchup. I'm not so good at the pastry but found that Pillsbury Pie Crust-in the red box is exactly the same taste as mom's crust. Always moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
As a Minnesota Iron Ranger raised on Cornish pasties I note that the reason these are too dry is the lack of tiny pieces of salt pork in the mix. And only rutabegas are authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was my first attempt to make pasties. My husband is used to the Upper MI Finnish pasties and this one was pretty close. I used shortening for the crust instead of lard since I had it on hand and it made the crust a little too dry. I also used rutabaga instead of turnips and it added a great flavor. The meat was probably too lean so be careful what cut you buy. Next time I will add carrots which most UP MI ones have. Overall I was very pleased with my first attempt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is my favorite dish! I made it when I was in the military and it was an instant success with everyone. They last forever and taste great at room temp. The juices stay where they are and the pastie shell is the perfict blend of flavors to mix with the vege meat mix. I ate 3 of them when I made it the 1st time :-) I just couldnt stop. All in all a definate Yum Yum dish thats perfict for lunches and hiking trips and camping due to the fact it doesnt need to be heated to taste good. Just keep the shell from breaking and letting the juices out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fantastic .. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by queenoffun
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This recipe came out great! Cooked perfectly; very nice flakey crust with a beautifully moist meat/vegetable interior. Only compliant is there was a lot of leftover veggies. Next time I'll only use 3 potatoes, 1 large turnip and 1 onion. See Time Life American Cooking: Eastern Heartland cookbook, which has photos on how to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These are good, it just seems like the dough should be different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Excellent, We love this recipe, it's simple and good tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
nice recipe although a little too dry. Top round is the wrong cut here - you want a cheap fatty cut which will help the moisture level. Puff pastry as one reviewer suggests is not at all authentic. Although of course if you like it, by all means. YTou can get authentic pasties around the old Cornish mining towns in Southwest Wisconsin (around Cassville)...good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
NB: A word to the wise - if you are visiting England, and want to experience a really decent Cornish pastie (this recipe barely hints at the gastronomic delights you can encounter there), you MUST get a pastie at Stein's deli, Padstowe (they are a tad spendy but they really are worth it), or Pronto Pastie, almost any place in the West Country. Also, for the most delightful cream teas and scones (scones are like biscuits but they come with clotted cream and strawberry jam) visit any of the tea shops at Boscastle - a pot of tea for 2 plus 2 fist-sized scones and jam and cream will set you back about $6! Boscastle is a truly beautiful, breath-taking fishing village, and you won't be disappointed!) ANYWAY, the pasties in this recipe were alright. I have eaten enough Cornish pasties in Cornwall to know a good one when I see it (or taste a good one when I taste it??), and this wasn't it really. The pastry was ok, though I much prefer a puff-pastry shell. The innards were dry and pretty tasteless, despite the fact I added A LOT of freshly-ground pepper, which is how traditional pasties are supposed to be... I suspect that good Cornish pasties can only be found it Cornwall....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States