Coal Miners Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Perfect.... great crust... freezes very well.... but browned my meat first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used cream corn in mine to make it creamy. Delicious. I wrapped them almost fully in foil. I cooked it at 300 for an hour and a half. Then opened up to foil and cooked at 400 for 20 minutes to darken the crust. Steak was super tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I am very popular in my family for this recipe. Thank you. Now my bucket list is to go visit Cornwall & snack on a pasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This looks very good. A real cornish pastie had the dessert on the back end of the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I'm from Northeastern PA..Coal country..we make these all the time for church fundraisers. Ground Beef, white potatoes, onions and served with Brown gravy. You can save tons of time at home by using pre-made pie crust. Layer Potatoes, meat then oniion seasoning with salt and pepper and some allspice as you go. NO NEED TO COOK ANYTHING BEFORE..bake hour or so in 375 oven...pour gravy over and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coastal Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Very good. Easy to make. I made it for my parents and my sister and they enjoyed it very much. I added just a hint of garlic powder and it was good. It smelled terrific and made mouths water as they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The only thing I did different was to eat this meal with a bit of ketchup. Fabulous recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I'm rating my changes, not the original recipe. On paper recipe looked good, but found I didn't have turnips so used what I had on hand. I used frozen onions and fried them down to take the twange out. In place of turnips, I used 3/4 a small bag of "stir-fry veggies w/rice" and white potatoes in place of red. Reds have a better flavor. In place of round steak, I used 5 veggie meatballs I froze last year (this was a big mistake, as it made the recipe taste unusual). The pasties are huge, bigger than I had stomach for. I used 2 cookie sheets (3 on each). When all was in oven, I thought baking at 400 degrees would burn the dough but it did not. Actually, I added 5 minutes to the 45-minute baking time to get a golden color. The pastry was a little bland for me (I got spoiled making sugar-crusted appled pie from this site), yet it was flaky and didn't fall apart. Next time I make this recipe I'll be sure to use turnips. I may add a little sugar (for taste) to the dough. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a great crust but the inside is pretty dry, I even made gravy from the steak that I browned and added it to the mixture and it was still to dry. Next time I will use a different meat and have gravy on the table as well and like someone else said, it has a lot of left over potatoes and turnip mixture, that is true, I guess you should use the tiny red potatoes and small turnips. This is a great recipe to try different fillings with. Oh yes and also, the next day the crust is still nice and flaky even after heating up in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
The meat was very good, but the crust was dry and crumbly. There were far too many potatoes and it was overall very bland. I think it could be better with a different crust and more seasoning. It was a good concept but I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States