Cloverleaf Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Last minute switch over from the roll I originally picked. I cut this recipe in half and used buttermilk instead of plain milk and melted butter instead of shortening. I proofed the yeast in the bowl of my Kitchen Aid with the milk, water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the egg and melted butter, then the dry ingredients. I did need almost 3/4 of a cup more flour than the recipe called for to get it to form into a ball and jump on the hook. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for five minutes. I got twelve cloverleaf rolls out of a half recipe, not fifteen. Either way, this was simple and turned out nicely. Not my first rodeo with yeast but my first Cloverleaf roll recipe. Success! NOTE: After I had one last night, I have to say that this is one of THE best rolls I've ever had. I owe it to using buttermilk and butter. Bakery quality. Really delicious. EDITED: I've made two half batches in three days. It's safe to say we love these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This is the first time I make dinner rolls. I was very nervous and afraid that they would not turn out good....Oh my!They are really good!!!So easy to make and so delicious!!!And so pretty!!!My father-in-law who would not eat things his mother had never fixed even had the second one!!!My mother-in-law had 2 rolls too!!! She said this is better than the store bought ones. My hubby loves it! Thank you for the recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These were very good! I used half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose and they turned out great. I also used canola oil instead of the shortening. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Great flavor. Perfect texture, but best when right out of the oven. I've made these twice now, and the first time I brushed them with egg before baking to get a nicer appearance. They look like something on the cover of a cookbook. They were a big hit at Thanksgiving dinner and I plan on making them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Oh my goodness.....my family went NUTS over these!! I replaced the milk with buttermilk, as per Sarah Jo's suggestion, and they were OUTSTANDING!!! Will make these again and again and again.....!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These did turn out pretty good for me, but I think I will add a touch more salt (maybe 1/2-1 tsp) next time as they didn't have the depth of flavor I was looking for. However, they were excellent with butter. I also had to add about 1 cup more flour to get the dough into an actual dough, not a batter. I only have one muffin pan, so I made 2 more sheets of knot rolls, baked for the same amount of time as the cloverleaf rolls. I also used an eggwash (beaten egg and water) before baking. They came out perfectly golden. I will probably make these again, but tweak them a little by adding more salt, or dipping the dough balls in melted butter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was my first time making rolls and these came out fantastic!I forced myself to freeze some to keep from eating them all at once. The defrosted rolls were just as good as the freshly baked. If you are a beginning baker this is a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princilla Claiborne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was an okay recipe for me. I was looking for a cloverleaf roll recipe that was similar to the one I have in my recipe book (which is currently in storage). The rolls came out drier than what I was expecting, and it did not have that "melt in your mouth" effect that I had with my other recipe. If I hadn't known how good cloverleaf rolls COULD be, I might have rated this higher. I tried this recipe twice just to make sure. More than likely, I will not use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit4TheKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
These have a nice texture and are very soft on the inside, but the flavor leaves a bit to be desired...they are so bland, there is no taste to them at all. Won't be making these again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
these rolls are full of flavor, fluffy texture and very simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States