Cloverleaf Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made these using my bread machine dough option. The only changes to the recipe I made were adding two tablespoons of gluten and using canola oil instead of shortening. The recipe actually yielded a few more rolls than the 30 it called for (probably due to the way I divided it up). They baked up nicely, though the three balls fused together more than in the picture. They tasted great, though not a strong flavor like others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ming
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these mostly as directed and they came out fantastic! Light and airy. I used less than 51/2 cups of flour; just add enough to make a soft dough after the initial 2 cups. At least, this is what i did and the rolls are verrrrry good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Last minute switch over from the roll I originally picked. I cut this recipe in half and used buttermilk instead of plain milk and melted butter instead of shortening. I proofed the yeast in the bowl of my Kitchen Aid with the milk, water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the egg and melted butter, then the dry ingredients. I did need almost 3/4 of a cup more flour than the recipe called for to get it to form into a ball and jump on the hook. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for five minutes. I got twelve cloverleaf rolls out of a half recipe, not fifteen. Either way, this was simple and turned out nicely. Not my first rodeo with yeast but my first Cloverleaf roll recipe. Success! NOTE: After I had one last night, I have to say that this is one of THE best rolls I've ever had. I owe it to using buttermilk and butter. Bakery quality. Really delicious. EDITED: I've made two half batches in three days. It's safe to say we love these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
We all love rolls, but like everyone else. We have favorites, this being on that list, O YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
WONDERFUL! i confess i am a stranger to the kitchen, but this recipe is wonderful. the rolls didn't turn out picture perfect, but they tasted so good we will keep this recipe forever. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Excellent flavor, but a little dry. I will brush with butter before baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These did turn out pretty good for me, but I think I will add a touch more salt (maybe 1/2-1 tsp) next time as they didn't have the depth of flavor I was looking for. However, they were excellent with butter. I also had to add about 1 cup more flour to get the dough into an actual dough, not a batter. I only have one muffin pan, so I made 2 more sheets of knot rolls, baked for the same amount of time as the cloverleaf rolls. I also used an eggwash (beaten egg and water) before baking. They came out perfectly golden. I will probably make these again, but tweak them a little by adding more salt, or dipping the dough balls in melted butter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was my first time making rolls and these came out fantastic!I forced myself to freeze some to keep from eating them all at once. The defrosted rolls were just as good as the freshly baked. If you are a beginning baker this is a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princilla Claiborne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Didn't rise well the second time. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
these rolls are full of flavor, fluffy texture and very simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States