Cloverleaf Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
another good choice great tasting and a never fail recipe we like these alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by London
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and used large muffin pans...got nine very large rolls which is exactly what I needed for a last minute meal....they tasted great. My hubby ate three before I was able to get the whole dinner on the table...lol..I will defiantly be making these for thanksgiving dinner...awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by London

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
These were delightful. My husband loved them. They do require a bit of work, but how can you cut short homemade bread? Not possible. :) We really enjoyed them! On the menu for Thanksgiving! NOTE: I later made these with white flour instead of whole wheat---and, what a difference! The white flour makes them far more tender. The whole wheat, (maybe it was just the brand of wh. wheat I used?), made them still tasty but tougher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Made these rolls twice. The first time I followed the recipe as written and though I found the rolls to be very light and fluffy, they were also overly yeasty without much depth of flavor. The second time I used buttermilk (milk with 1 Tb of white vinegar is a good substitute) and butter, increased salt by 1/2 tsp and reduced the yeast by half. With adequate kneading (google window pane test) and longer rise times, I achieved an equally light and fluffy texture without the heavy yeast flavor and the buttermilk and butter added a very nice flavor! I am very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I give this a 5 star for its delicious taste and texture.But someone should realy change the prep time to 2 hours instead of 35min.they should include the rising time it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
i tried the cloverleaf rolls and they were delicious, i will definitley make it again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe...First...I heated the water, milk, butter in the microwave for 2 min's added butter, and additional 30's min's in the microwave than added the yeast...put this in my kitchenaid mixer and added flour until a ball was formed. I hand kneaded for 3-5 min's...put in a warmed greased bowl for 1 hr., punched down and made clover rolls...have to say I used crisco, but when growing up and making rolls with my grandmother we always put butter on our hands to make the balls (and would do this again next time because if you are going to indulge ...butter is the way to go). When the rolls come out of the oven coat with butter. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
First off, I did cut recipe in half. Very good using buttermilk & melted butter vs shortening. I did dbl the seasoning (salt +) and my rolls were perfect as far as having flavor. I used bread flour as usual and 1/2 C WW flour in the beginning. If your dough dry, you added too much flour. I mix it to a tacky state and go from there. Spray your hands and work surface with non-stick to keep things workable without making these dry as dust. Too much flour will make any bread dough dense or heavy...don't do it! I did use my K/A stand mixer but...I always knead dough by hand once it's pulled together. For me...I have to get a 'feel' for any bread dough with my hands. It's an art making any bread/rolls, etc. and found this recipe pretty simple with minor changes with liquids. Love it otherwise! Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love these and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Hmmm, I'm not sure how to rate this. I used buttermilk and butter like some other reviewers noted, but the bread just wasn't very fluffy - kind of dense. I added the flour as recommended, but the dough seemed pretty sticky. So I'd like to try it again, but I think I'll try it with more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States