Clothespin Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
If I can figure out how to I am going to submit the easiest recipe of all for these and tell you all the tricks I learned through the last 30 years. 0;D As far as time consuming, the recipe I am going to submit isn't quick as time consuming but any cookie along this line is, where you make a shell and then filling and then fill them. the answer to that is pace yourself, they don't have to be finished the same day. Make your shells one day and then ill them the next and you and they won't seem so overwhelmed! So keep your eye out for my Super Easy Clothespin Cookies, Pace yourself no matter what recipe you use and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4girlzmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is by far the best ladylock recipe I have ever tried. It is much easier to make than the yeast-based recipe, and the dough rolls out like a dream. Make sure that you chill the dough sufficiently, and that you flour your work surface generously. I did add 2 Tbsp. of sugar to the dough. These came out better than the local bakery! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Time consuming, yes...but worth it. I found the filling was a little runny (probably something on my part) so I added about a half a cup of cream cheese (I got it to the consistency I liked...). YUMMY! I also added food coloring to the filling in honor of the holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe can be altered. It basically is a good recipe but with a few changes. First use 1/2" wooden dowels to make them on that have been cut to 4" lengths and soaked in oil overnight, then blotted before use. This is like tempering a cast iron pan. The cookies should slide off easier. Next add 1 to 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar to the dough. Lastly, reduce the amount of Crisco, not the butter, in the filling, and make sure you are not working with it in a hot kitchen, the fat will break down easily. And make sure to dust the tops of the cookies with powder sugar when finished and put together. Do not fill the cookies until they are completely cold. These freeze exceptionally well if there are any left to freeze! I have been making these for special occasions for decades and are always the hit of the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have used this recipe for two yrs the dough is a little to soft and sticky even after chilling ,however all i did was knead a little flour into the dough before I rolled it .they came otu perfect I have used this recipe this way for 2 yrs and never had any trouble however I use my own cream cheese or chocolate Icing to fill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
time consuming. Even after following the recipe to a tee, still could not get the pastry to slide off the clothespin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe was time consuming and hard. The filling was greasy and the pastry was bland. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This recipe was in no way EASY!!! Too time consuming for what you get out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
good but still not as good as the recipe which calls for cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
This takes some time but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States