Clothes Pin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have tried other recipes for lady locks and this one it the best! I followed the recipe exactly. Well, I might not have used and entire pound of butter. It takes a while. I usually set aside 2 days, one for making the dough, and the other for baking and filling. Oh, this creme filling really good. It tastes just like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Worth the time! My husband's favorite cookie! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Excellent recipe. Very time consuming but a great way to pass time in the kitchen during the holidays with my 3 girls. Our favorite of all cookie recipes we have gotten online. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I loved this recipe. The only thing that I did different is use frozen Pastry Puff sheets, only because I didn't have enough time to spend making the dough. The cream filling is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talk2her

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Used frozen puff pastry dough because I didn't have all day to make the dough, but will make the dough next time as well! The filling was great, very tasty. I used butter-flavored shortening and it was great! I recommend cutting the strips a bit longer than 4-5 inches, I liked the long narrow shells better than fat wide ones. I halved the filling recipe and ended up with a LOT left over. Using 2 sheets of puff pastry dough, and strips wound on 4.5 inch dowels of 1/2" thickness, I got 36 cookies. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was nothing short of heavenly! Cooks who use 2 days to make this are absolutely correct. I also suggest letting shells stand over night as it makes them easier to fill. Use a pastery bag (I did not have one when I started and baggies simply do NOT handle the thick filling). I tend to make them very thin and then sift powdered sugar over top. So completely unhealthy and absolutely worth it! Make the dough!!! It is must NOT the same as the premade stuff. It's SO much better with the labor intensive version here really...so much better! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
loved these pastries! I looked everywhere for this recipe to make for my in laws and was so happy when i found this! they were gone as fast as I made them! I wouldn't change anything, just be prepared for a super sweet to curb any sweet tooth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canabear88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Diny was absolutely correct about the clothespins she used! I had to smile when I read the reviews because the clothespins referred to in the name of these cookies are the very old fashioned ones - without springs. No matter though, these cookies are a piece of heaven in your mouth! A MUST MAKE and so worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Instead of vanilla I use almond flavoring for the filling. Also, I have in a pinch just used crisco,powdered sugar and marshmellow cream and almond extract for the filling. I use the old style clothes pins without springs from the craft store. These freeze very well. I usually bake at 425 for 5 minutes then turn it down to 400 for another 10- but that all depends on how thin you can get these rolled out- thinner the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
My nurse had given me her filling recipe, and I thought there was too much shortening, so I looked up this one, and the filling was the best I ever tasted. Definitely 4 stars. Thanks for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy2bGina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States