Clinton's Special Vegetarian Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I served this quiche to my family for Christmas brunch. Everyone loved it including the picky eaters. I used the filo pastry. I brushed quiche dish with melted butter, then laid down a sheet of filo pastry (folding the edges back into the dish, laid another sheet, brushed with butter. I laid about 6 sheets, each time brushing with butter. I followed Gloria M's instruction and baked at 400 degrees for 10 minutes. I then followed the recipe. It was delicious and I'll surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
It was wonderful. Great Taste. I even used a whole 10oz box of thawed, drained chopped spinach. I put 1 cup of cheese in bottom and egg spinach mixture on top with tomatoes last. Awww it was scrumptious. Won't make it often because of the cheese fat, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is by far the best Quich I have ever tasted! Try it, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This quiche is delicious! My roommate and I made it tonight and it came out beautifully. I had never made a quiche before and was delighted by how easy and flavourful this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was really good. The kids said they liked it because it didn't have the 'eggy' taste. The cottage cheese gives it a ricotta texture. I baked these in 12 muffin tins using puff pastry squares. I had some left over egg mixture so I baked that in a small pyrex baking dish without the crust for a wheat free option. Everything was baked in about 25 min. I also used frozen spinach instead of fresh because that's what I had on hand. I also used green onion instead of regular onion because of personal preference. I omitted the nutmeg because I don't like nutmeg in cheese dishes. Again because of the kids, I left out the bottom onion and tomato layer. It seems like a lot of changes but the basic egg mixture was the same, minus the nutmeg. I will make this again. I served the leftovers for breakfast the next morning. It's great for those vegetarian dinners, and for breakfast. To reheat the next morning, just put on a baking sheet and warm in the oven at 350 deg for about 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used 2 frozen pie crust (because they cost less) and it turned out great! Very tasty if you like onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Ahhhhh Puff pastry. This recipe must have been taken from my own heart. I just loved it. The center was delicate and the crust from top to bottom was still crisp and light. I made a couple minor alterations, I blended one garlic clove in with the spinach, and strained the cottage cheese just a little. I don't own a quiche pan, so I decided to experiment with a 9" cake pan. I made sure to curl the pastry over the edge so it wouldn't fall, and that worked. Must comment on a few of the other reviews I've read, I didn't find it time consuming. I baked my shell early and cooked the onions and dealt with the spinach at the same time. Then beat my ingredients together. Was pretty simple Also, I've read "too many onions". I say choose your onion. I used a medium sweet and it was perfect, thought thinly sliced shallots might be good too. I'll always use puff pastry for quiche from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy and the Moonpies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cmryser
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was the first quiche I have ever made. Everyone really liked it, I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee except I did not purée the spinach,I just cut it into small quarter inch pieces. Could use a little more flavor but it is a good base to start on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved how fluffy and flaky it was. The cottage cheese made it very creamy. I changed only a couple of things. I buttered a tart pan and used a store bought pie shell, threw a sheet of aluminum foil over top just so the edges wouldn't start baking. Par-Baked at 350 for 10 minutes. I used 1 cup of egg beaters and 2 whole eggs (equivalent of 6 eggs) and wasn't sure how fluffy it would be w/o all the yolks so I added ~ 1-2tsp of xanthum gum just to be sure. I also used 1/2 a pkg of frozen, chopped spinach and instead of tomatoes, I used about 1/4 cup of chopped roasted red bell peppers from a jar. I made all in advance except the egg mixture since this was for Easter brunch. I covered the edges with foil and baked the filled pie at 325 for 1 hour. Then pulled off the foil, increased the temp to 375 and moved the pie to the lowest shelf in the oven, baking for an additional 15 minutes. It was better than the quiche Lorraine (meat) that I made and it was good, but this was superb. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I used frozen pie crust because that's what I had on hand. I will use less onion next time. I didn't even pre-cook the fresh spinach...just tossed it in the mixture and they came out perfectly fine. Great recipe. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States