Clinton's Special Vegetarian Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
This was really good. Time consuming but simple and worth it. My two kids (9 and almost 8) didn't rave but ate it. This is high praise from my picky eaters. The 200 temperature isn't high enough to cook in the specified time. I will up it to 250-300 next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I made this for a party and everyone raved over it. Especially my sister-in-law who is a vegetarian and has a hard time finding quality recipes without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I was cleaning out the freezer and typed in puff pastry and spinach and found this recipe. I used a box of frozen spinach and it turned out great. My husband and I really enjoyed, but I had to bribe the kids to eat it by offering an apple turnover made from the other sheet of puff pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Very tasty. I used a package of frozen chopped spinach, three eggs and 3/4 cup cottage cheese. Used only 1 sheet puff pastry and made a 9" pie. Never thought of using puff pastry for a crust. I make quiches often and now have a quick solution when I'm too busy to make pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Great way to eat spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I adjusted this recipe a little since I'm on a pretty restricted diet. I'm not permitted to have dairy products, or refined flour products so I substituted Extra firm Tofu (drained and crumbled) for the cottage cheese, instead of the fresh tomatoes, I substituted sun dried tomatoes, and used olive oil instead of the butter. I omitted the puff pastry (although I would have loved to have it) and I opted to have a nice salad on the side. Making this a tasty and filling meal. The next time I make this, I'll opt to scale back just a tad on the nutmeg. I'll be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Shirley: I live in a small town. I was unable to find Puff Pastry in our Grocery Store. Can you tell me the brand me to ask for. Also do I look in the "frozen food dept." or in the "refrigerated area"? Thank You I am a new subscriber to All Receipes and enjoy it. Happy Meal Planning Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe!!!! I made it using filo pastry instead of puff pastry. I sprayed a 10" quiche dish with olive oil then lined it with 3-4 sheets of filo. I sprayed on more olive oil (brushing it on) and applied another 3 layers or so of filo. I sprayed the filo again and turned the ends of filo that hung over the dish into the dish. I checked one last time to ensure that the last layer was lightly sprayed everywhere (top and sides) and baked it at 400 F for 10 minutes. I also used one package of frozen spinach which I thawed by putting in the skillet with 4 T of water. I cooked it over medium heat only until it was thawed to not destroy the nutrients. I then put the spinach in a sieve to drain pressing down lightly to extract as much water as possible. I didn't puree it. I just added it with the nutmeg to the egg mixture. I used 1% cottage cheese which I also drained (somewhat) in a sieve. I sauteed the onions in olive oil instead of butter. One large tomato thinly sliced will yield one layer over the onions--that's what I used. The rest I did according to the recipe. It looked great, was very quick to make and boy, did it go over well with both my vegetarian and non-vegetarian guests!! This recipe will become the family favorite!!! Many thanks, Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Excellent! Everyone asks me for the recipe. Sometimes I omit the tomatoes, if I don't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was pretty good, though next time I'm going to try it with filo as another reviewer suggested. as I think it would stay crisper on the bottom. Sauted a little garlic and some sliced mushrooms along with the onions and used frozen spinach, which I thawed and squeezed dry. Only used one sheet of puff pastry, which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States