Clementine's Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I've been making these cookies for more than 15 years. My friends insist that I bring it them every holiday get-together. The posted recipe produces great results, and it is very forgiving of substitutions. It works with butter or margarine (not low-fat margarine, though), bread flour or all-purpose, whole wheat or white flour, pecans or walnuts, quick oats or old-fashioned. The butter can be cold or completely melted. I've even made them with flax seeds instead of an egg for a friend who's allergic to eggs. I switched to using white sugar and a tablespoon of molasses instead of brown sugar, but they're great either way. The biggest single factor in the the texture is the amount of oats; for consistent results, you should weigh the oats. I use 8 oz (slightly less than 3 cups) of quick oats for a softer cookie. One last tip: Use freshly ground nutmeg for the best results. You can taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
AMAZING!!!! I just made these in 5 minutes and they made a huge batch!! I didn't even have baking soda and they came out AMAZING!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Perhaps due to my altitude I ended up with a very crumbly mixture (similar to granola). I added an 1/8 of a cup of milk and it made them PERFECT! The only other changes I made was I reduced the amount of cinnamon (due to personal taste) in half. Makes a PERFECT cookie....delish! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were very well received in our Christmas baskets this year. I cut back on the cinnamon but otherwise followed the recipe. When the dough is chilled they stay like a regular cookie, but I found they were really awesome when they were baked at room temp. They really spread and became sort of lace cookies that were thin and crisp. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Not that good. The dough is mostly butter and the cookies are too much like a crystallized butter/sugar mixture. Maybe more flour would help? I burned a batch and they turned out to be the best batch, so cook longer than you think and they will come out the best. Oh, and I skipped the nuts but walnuts in it would have been much better, would have helped the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wonderful cookie! I'm usually not prone to making oatmeal cookies, but this cookie may have just turned me around. It's nice and cripsy on the outside yet chewy in the middle even after a couple of days. The cinnamon combined with a touch of nutmeg gives it just the right amount of spice. I cut back on the oats, using 2 1/2 cups. vs. 3 and I also used a bag of semi-sweet miniature chocolate chips. The dough is very thick, so I rolled these by hand into 1 inch balls that I flattened just slightly. I baked these on parchment paper at 375 for 10 minutes. These do spread so be sure to bake them a few inches apart. Don't be tempted to overbake these or you'll have a hockey puck on your hands. I had to have one of these straight out of the oven risking burning my mouth, but I just couldn't resist - so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent, excellent recipe. I consider myself a good baker and I really liked this recipe. The spices are just right, the recipe is easy, and best of all the final product is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Fantastic! I wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Really good cookie with great flavor, just wish they wouldn't flatten out so much during baking. I tried chilling the dough, using parchment paper, etc., but they still flatten. Will definitely make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdiesgirls
Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States