Claudia's Yummy Frosting for Cakes and Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
As written this recipe only deserves a weak three stars because if one was to include the 1/4 cup milk called for it would be much too thin. Thanks to previous reviewers, I didn't include any milk at all. However, there is another problem - the two teaspoons of vanilla turns this an unpleasant dingy shade of off brownish-white. Fine if you're tinting your frosting, undesirable if you're not. In hindsight I'd say use no vanilla at all or at most 1 tsp., use imitation clear vanilla, or almond extract, which is clear. Finally, while the flavor was nice, I wasn't totally pleased with the texture, probably because of the flour. I wasn't nearly as pleased with this recipe as I've been with others from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This frosting was VERY good! Less sweet than most frostings and light. To fix the problem of the frosting being too runny, like other reviewers mentioned, I just left out the milk. There really is no need for it. Perfect spreading consistancy and I was also able to decorate w/ it for borders and piping scroll work. This is a lightly crusting recipe also. Be sure to refrigerate your cake with this as it has raw egg whites in it. Highly recommended. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I used this on an angel food cake and it was perfect! It was a little bit runny and I didn't have time to cool it so I just added another tablespoon of flour. I made it a second time and added a couple tablespoons of coco and no extra four and it was perfect thickness and taste after an hour in the fridge, I'll definitely be using this recipe lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very tasty, i liked eating it even before i put it on my cake. Only this is its a little runny, i put it in the freezer for a bit. Very good recipe and i will use this recipe on future cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
What wonderful frosting! I love the little bit of salt in it, it gives it that salty/sweet thing in the same bite. Is not too heavy or overly sweet. Was the perfect consistency for spreading. I made it twice and the second time left out the egg whites (worried about salmonella for my little one) and was just as good. Yum,Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Sweet, fast & easy! The vanilla does give the frosting a bit of a dingy color but the flavor is fine & the original recipe is meant to be colored. I left out the milk and cut the recipe in half, that made the perfect amount for one batch of cupcakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good frosting!! Downside for me....you must use frosting within hours of making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciajewel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I omitted the milk, kept the egg whites, and instead of shortening, I used 1/2 package of cream cheese plus 1 stick butter. I didn't know the yield of the recipe before I made it, but it made enough frosting for 2 dozen+ cupcakes heavily frosted. I might try keeping the milk and omitting the egg whites next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Easy, delicious and not too sweet. Goes perfectly with a wedding style/almond flavor cake. I used butter flavor shortening because that's all I had, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarataylor914

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was an easy great-tasting frosting! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States