Claudia's Yummy Frosting for Cakes and Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very tasty, i liked eating it even before i put it on my cake. Only this is its a little runny, i put it in the freezer for a bit. Very good recipe and i will use this recipe on future cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I used this on an angel food cake and it was perfect! It was a little bit runny and I didn't have time to cool it so I just added another tablespoon of flour. I made it a second time and added a couple tablespoons of coco and no extra four and it was perfect thickness and taste after an hour in the fridge, I'll definitely be using this recipe lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Pretty runny, not the best flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I was impressed! So easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This frosting was VERY good! Less sweet than most frostings and light. To fix the problem of the frosting being too runny, like other reviewers mentioned, I just left out the milk. There really is no need for it. Perfect spreading consistancy and I was also able to decorate w/ it for borders and piping scroll work. This is a lightly crusting recipe also. Be sure to refrigerate your cake with this as it has raw egg whites in it. Highly recommended. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Tastes delicious, but it was way too runny. I had to add much more flour and sugar in addition to overnight refrigeration to get the fluffy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
this recipe is fine. followed it exactly but only put in a touch of milk and it comes out wonderful. perfect consistency and tastes pretty good to. i will definitely use this now all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the perfect frosting! Not too sweet and sooooo much tastier than store-bought frosting!!! I did use a bit more than 2 drops of blue food coloring so that it didn't look gray. I highly recommend this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
As written this recipe only deserves a weak three stars because if one was to include the 1/4 cup milk called for it would be much too thin. Thanks to previous reviewers, I didn't include any milk at all. However, there is another problem - the two teaspoons of vanilla turns this an unpleasant dingy shade of off brownish-white. Fine if you're tinting your frosting, undesirable if you're not. In hindsight I'd say use no vanilla at all or at most 1 tsp., use imitation clear vanilla, or almond extract, which is clear. Finally, while the flavor was nice, I wasn't totally pleased with the texture, probably because of the flour. I wasn't nearly as pleased with this recipe as I've been with others from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This frosting is awesome! I used it on ice cream cone cupcakes and on a cake and still had extra! Everone who ate it loved it. The frosting will get too watery if you add all the milk, so I halved it. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingstar13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States