Claudia's Yummy Frosting for Cakes and Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
No milk and I used butter flavored Crisco for the shortening. This was the best frosting ever. I can't handle the sweetness of store bought kind and my husband was tired of me cutting it with whipped cream to lighten it. Now I will just make this.....sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Sweet, fast & easy! The vanilla does give the frosting a bit of a dingy color but the flavor is fine & the original recipe is meant to be colored. I left out the milk and cut the recipe in half, that made the perfect amount for one batch of cupcakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Loved it! I did use the ingredients suggested by other readers, such as omitting the milk and using clear vanilla instead of regular. With these changes the frosting turned out perfect! Definately one of the best frosting recipes on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday afternoon. It tastes delicious! It's just a bit too thin for my liking. It was a bit runny to frost my cake so I didn't quite get the coverage I was looking for. I think I should have added more powdered sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Incredible!! my friends just couldn't believe I made it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Very easy, I too only added 1 tbsp milk and it turned out great!!! :0 Love it and I'm fussy when it comes to icing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Quick & Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. I actually made two batches. But I had to add 1 1/2-2 cups more confectioner's sugar. This was to stiffen it and to make it more sweet. It was good, but had a mildly weird texture. Nothing CRAZY weird, or even really noticeable. This was a great recipe, its just not the most amazing frosting I have ever had, which would be 5 stars... But overall a hit, and by the way, you are gonna need a lot more than 2 drops of coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
i love this!!!!! it was so good. it was some of the best icing i've ever tasted!!! my friend asked me to make this icing for her wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Pretty Good! I am not much of a frosting fan and usually can only take certain buttercream frostings. But I tried this one as an experiment and I can eat it without feeling that frosting-sick feel. I love the lightness. I also used just a little bit of milk as almost everyone else has said to do, and I am glad I took the advice. 1/4 cup would have been way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States