Claudia's Yummy Frosting for Cakes and Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This frosting was VERY good! Less sweet than most frostings and light. To fix the problem of the frosting being too runny, like other reviewers mentioned, I just left out the milk. There really is no need for it. Perfect spreading consistancy and I was also able to decorate w/ it for borders and piping scroll work. This is a lightly crusting recipe also. Be sure to refrigerate your cake with this as it has raw egg whites in it. Highly recommended. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I love this recipe i only made 3 changes 1. I only used a 1/2 cup butter ( I also only has 3 cups sugar) 2. I did about a table spoon of milk (milk makes it look shiny other wise i would not use any) 3. I added a table spoon or 2 of lemon so it did not taste sickly sweet. I also suggest using a stand mixer on high so it really gets whipped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I used this on an angel food cake and it was perfect! It was a little bit runny and I didn't have time to cool it so I just added another tablespoon of flour. I made it a second time and added a couple tablespoons of coco and no extra four and it was perfect thickness and taste after an hour in the fridge, I'll definitely be using this recipe lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I was impressed! So easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
this recipe is fine. followed it exactly but only put in a touch of milk and it comes out wonderful. perfect consistency and tastes pretty good to. i will definitely use this now all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the perfect frosting! Not too sweet and sooooo much tastier than store-bought frosting!!! I did use a bit more than 2 drops of blue food coloring so that it didn't look gray. I highly recommend this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This frosting is awesome! I used it on ice cream cone cupcakes and on a cake and still had extra! Everone who ate it loved it. The frosting will get too watery if you add all the milk, so I halved it. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingstar13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! Been looking for a frosting recipe that tastes as good as Betty Crocker's, but can have the thickness of buttercream, so that it will hold up for decorating. This one has it ALL!!! Thanks so much for this amazingly sweet and yummy frosting, Claudia!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
this frosting is SOOOOO good. it tastes like a pro made it!! to make it taste the way a pro makes it, dont add all the flour and dont put milk in! other than that, NO MORE CANNED FROSTING FOR ME!!! this is what im using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Pretty Good! I am not much of a frosting fan and usually can only take certain buttercream frostings. But I tried this one as an experiment and I can eat it without feeling that frosting-sick feel. I love the lightness. I also used just a little bit of milk as almost everyone else has said to do, and I am glad I took the advice. 1/4 cup would have been way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States