Claudia's Yummy Frosting for Cakes and Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good frosting!! Downside for me....you must use frosting within hours of making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciajewel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
this frosting is SOOOOO good. it tastes like a pro made it!! to make it taste the way a pro makes it, dont add all the flour and dont put milk in! other than that, NO MORE CANNED FROSTING FOR ME!!! this is what im using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! Been looking for a frosting recipe that tastes as good as Betty Crocker's, but can have the thickness of buttercream, so that it will hold up for decorating. This one has it ALL!!! Thanks so much for this amazingly sweet and yummy frosting, Claudia!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Worked great for a clean, white frosting that was fluffy and yummy! I made sure to use clear vanilla extract and beat it for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I love this recipe i only made 3 changes 1. I only used a 1/2 cup butter ( I also only has 3 cups sugar) 2. I did about a table spoon of milk (milk makes it look shiny other wise i would not use any) 3. I added a table spoon or 2 of lemon so it did not taste sickly sweet. I also suggest using a stand mixer on high so it really gets whipped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I omitted the milk, kept the egg whites, and instead of shortening, I used 1/2 package of cream cheese plus 1 stick butter. I didn't know the yield of the recipe before I made it, but it made enough frosting for 2 dozen+ cupcakes heavily frosted. I might try keeping the milk and omitting the egg whites next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I love the recipe, but instead of omitting the milk, I left it in and took out the egg. This was on a very small scale (1 serving to see how it was), but I think it would work out just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This frosting is awesome! I used it on ice cream cone cupcakes and on a cake and still had extra! Everone who ate it loved it. The frosting will get too watery if you add all the milk, so I halved it. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingstar13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
As written this recipe only deserves a weak three stars because if one was to include the 1/4 cup milk called for it would be much too thin. Thanks to previous reviewers, I didn't include any milk at all. However, there is another problem - the two teaspoons of vanilla turns this an unpleasant dingy shade of off brownish-white. Fine if you're tinting your frosting, undesirable if you're not. In hindsight I'd say use no vanilla at all or at most 1 tsp., use imitation clear vanilla, or almond extract, which is clear. Finally, while the flavor was nice, I wasn't totally pleased with the texture, probably because of the flour. I wasn't nearly as pleased with this recipe as I've been with others from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the perfect frosting! Not too sweet and sooooo much tastier than store-bought frosting!!! I did use a bit more than 2 drops of blue food coloring so that it didn't look gray. I highly recommend this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States