Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I have never had green bean casserole. I tried this recipe, and it was tasty, but I noticed it wasn't the classic recipe. It doesn't have the cream of mushroom soup the other recipes call for. I think I will try the classic recipes and compare them with this one. This recipe was delicious though, everyone seemed to like it. Not much left over. Isn't that what counts on Thanksgiving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
So good. I hate the ones with the french fried onions. This is SO much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Growing up, we never had green bean caseroles and sweet potato pies, so in my 30's I have started introducing the tradition to my family and we have had such fun trying differnent recipes. This one was great. It comes out thicker than the traditional green bean caserole recipe - I am assuming because of the sour cream instead of milk. I added corn and did mix in the french's canned onion rings, which sayed crispy! The sour cream gave it much more flavor than the milk. Fun and easy to make - and good! Used frozen green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and wasn't terribly impressed, nor were my in-laws. Most of it was still in the bowl at the end of dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Made it at the last minute. Made as directed, other than some cheddar cheese I added in. Everyone loved it, said much better than the "regular" version. Now that I've seen the reviews I'll try it again with 1/2 cup sour cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
i thought this was great, although the rest of my family didnt. there wasnt so much cream of mushroom taste in it like other green bean casserole recipes, and the topping was a nice change from the fried onions. i did double the topping and it just covered the casserole. excellent! thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This re4cipe converted my husband to a green bean casserole lover. I too was never much for green bean casserole until I tried this recipe. The crackers on top tend to burn on me, so I simply add a little cheese instead. My husband's family nominated me as the NEW green bean casserole maker for the holidays. They all love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
VERY GOOD ! I used the whole can of cream of mushroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. Make sure you use the french style green beans, its not as good with whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I like the green bean part with (1/2 cup!) of sour cream, but I think I like the traditional fried onion topping instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States