Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I really like this recipe. The sour cream makes it really yummy. But the 1 teaspoon of salt is a bit much! I will use a lot less next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was not good at all. There was no "sauce" so to speak. It was just green beans with clumps of white gook. No one liked it or finished their serving of it at our Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this recipe with fresh green beans that I blanched for 4 minutes. I used a whole 10.5 oz can of mushroom soup, 1/2 c sour cream, and 3 oz Super Sharp white cheddar cheese. For the topping I used the traditioanl french fried onions. I put the whole thing together the day before, with the exception of the onion topping. It was amazing, flavorful and - devoured. I will definitely make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enlightenedfood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I use the canned green beans, too. For me, the fresh or frozen ones don't absorb the flavors of everything else, and the dish also ends up watery. I only used half of the sour cream....best dish ever! Remembering this from my childhood, and my mom and grandma made it with canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is my go to recipe every year! It's so yummy with the ritz cracker crust. I do add some of the french fried onions to the cracker mixture as well and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is really good with fresh blanched grean beans, instead of canned. Veronica Carlton Anthem Az
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent recipe that I have repeated several times. I use light sour cream, and either fresh or frozen green beans. I bake some cheddar on top. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Little too much pepper, but other than that very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is a pretty traditional dish. There isn't much fuss and it tastes good. I love that you can prepare it the night before, stick it in the fridge and then just add the topping right before you cook it. Fairly inexpensive for a side dish, very easy and it's an old school classic. I only used about half the sour cream, just to give it a flavor boost. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States