Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Average. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was totally overlooked. Not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was addictively good. I had two servings of this before I even got to my turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
You really need the 3 cans of beans. The French cut style are more compact than the whole cut ones. To those who had a runniness problem I squeezed the excess water out of the beans in addition to simply draining them. I think I actually like them better than the whole cut green beans. I wanted to do something a little dressier with the GB casserole this holiday and I love sour cream so I figured that (1/2 cup) would be good. I used only 2 cans of beans and a whole can of mushroom soup since I hate using partial canned goods in recipes. I always end up wasting the unused portions. I used a tsp. of soy sauce because the traditional recipe uses it according to the Campbell’s site and I like soy sauce. I know the cracker topping is the highlight of this recipe but I had the FF onions (and no crackers) and I like them, so I used them. The sour cream and French green beans made this for me though. The casserole was eaten and was better this way but (personal opinion) I’m still lukewarm on whether this requisite holiday dish is as great as its reputation. I’ll make it again for regular fare but may try something snazzier next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I typically despise green bean casserole and oh my, this was so amazing!! I used 3/4 cup of sour cream (Fat Free), and used a sprinkling of the crushed up Ritz crackers (Reduced Fat) in the casserole so it would soak some of it up. I also used 3/4 can of the soup (Low Sodium.) I am seriously in love with this! Making these changes really helps cut down on the fat and makes it that much more nutritious!! I also sprinkled some Parmesan cheese since we are cheese lovers. Love it and will make it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinLiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving! I used fresh, steamed green beans. I also added some french fried onions in with the beans (because I couldn't be without them) but stuck with the ritz crackers on top. Delicious! There was not one bite left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I've never been a huge fan of the ol' Green Bean Casserole, but this was surprisingly good. I don't like things too salty, so I used half unsalted beans, plus reduced salt soup. Next time, I want to try it with fresh or frozen beans to make it even more classy ;). This is the newest addition to my Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Yesterday (Thanksgiving 2008), my family & guests loved this recipe. As-is, it deserves 5 stars, Based on personal preference, I suggest the following: (A) Add 4 T diced onion when blending essential ingredients, & (B) Depending on the size of your baking dish, you may need to double the amount of butter & crackers (I used a large but shallow Corning dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used my own recipe for the contents of the casserole, and am only reviewing the crushed Ritz cracker topping, which I tried for the first time after reading this recipe. I'm sorry to say, but I didn't really care for the topping very much. It didn't add any flavor to the casserole, and gave the casserole sort of a mealy texture that I didn't care for, but it did look nice coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I do not like green bean casserole, but my family does. They loved this :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
great recipe, what I first thought was interesting was the use of sour cream. next time I think I will add a can of beens, bacon pieces, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States