Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Mine turned out a bit salty (and I like salt). I think if I make this again, I will either leave out the salt completely or reduce it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Even better than the traditional version. I forgot to buy crackers but had some french fried onions, so I added about a cup of those to the bean/soup/sour cream mixture, then added a layer on top of the casserole during the last 5 minutes of baking. I also used light cream of mushroom soup and light sour cream--we couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
DELICIOUS! This is very smooth and creamy and yummy! I am definitely going to make this for the holidays this year! Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I'm not sure why this is so popular. I thought it was rather bland and boring. I would have to add some more green beans, onions, and cheese to make this dish worth eating again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was the best recipe for green beans. Even my 4 year old who wrinkles his nose at all things green ate this and asked for seconds!! The sour cream made it so smooth and creamy. This is a favorite and I'm taking to Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Now at first I was a bit hesitant, and I wanted to try a different side dish... this recipe was GREAT! Talk about the perfect ingredients to mix... sour cream DEFINITELY had a lot to do with it. I will be making this dish again for the upcoming holidays (per the requet of my husband who loved it as well)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari-Mar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I'm learning that cooking is not an exact science... Oh sure, you can't really deviate on things like baking soda and stuff like that, but most recipes are pretty forgiving of some tweaking here and there. I was so sure I had everything I needed to make this for dinner, only to come home and find I had no mushroom soup OR sour cream. I used cream of broccoli and skipped the sour cream. I topped with the buttery crackers as indicated in the recipe (I used Ritz), but added a sprinkle of some grated italian cheese I had leftover in the fridge. What can I say? It tasted great. I'm sure the sour cream would have made it better, but this worked out fine. I will try again with the ingredients specified, but it got me thinking - you could probably do a "broccoli casserole", with frozen broccoli, condensed broccoli soup, and the other ingredients here. Maybe I'll try that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Loved it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Delicious and so easy. Much better than just heating up a can of grean beans.....how can you go wrong with sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Good recipe! I think I will add some cheddar on top as suggested by other reviewers as my children weren't as crazy about it as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States