Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
*****Note: The recipe was supposed to say 1/2 cup of sour cream. I have asked Allrecipes to revise the recipe. Also, I use reduced fat and sodium soup when I make this up; adjust salt to suit your own personal taste. Happy Cooking! RadiatingMom/Breeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
There's a lot of green bean casserole recipes out there, but this one is head and shoulders above the others. I think it's the addition of sour cream and the buttery cracker crust (not those tired old french fried onions) that give it a little extra zip and personality. I have to admit that I did sprinkle a little shredded cheese on top before adding the cracker crust, and as a cheese addict I think it made this casserole even better. This one's going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This is a great change from the traditional Green Bean Casserole. I used a whole can of mushroom soup and 1/2 cup of sour cream instead. And I also added some chopped pecans to the topping. I fixed this for Thanksgiving and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I have always liked green bean casseroles, but the salt and the fat are overwhelming to me. I used low fat, low salt cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 cup sour cream and frozen french style green beans. I ended up with the freshest tasting casserole ever! This paired well with Apple Stuffed Chicken Breasts and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this with our Christmas dinner and I will never go back to my old way of making green bean casserole. Take the advise of other reviewers and use less sour cream. ***ONLY USE HALF A CUP OF SOUR CREAM, even the author has posted that the recipe is printed wrong. I used canned green beans and I mixed the green beans and sauce together the night before and put it in the fridge overnight. When it was time to bake it I put the crackers on it and popped it into the oven. Delicious and easy, what more could you ask for???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is way better with frozen green beans. To jazz it up a bit, I sauteed fresh sliced mushrooms in butter with shallot, added 1 tsp. soy sauce and 1/2 tsp. dried tarragon. Used only 1/4 cup sour cream. Yep... changed the recipe quite a bit, and it sure was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I'm learning that cooking is not an exact science... Oh sure, you can't really deviate on things like baking soda and stuff like that, but most recipes are pretty forgiving of some tweaking here and there. I was so sure I had everything I needed to make this for dinner, only to come home and find I had no mushroom soup OR sour cream. I used cream of broccoli and skipped the sour cream. I topped with the buttery crackers as indicated in the recipe (I used Ritz), but added a sprinkle of some grated italian cheese I had leftover in the fridge. What can I say? It tasted great. I'm sure the sour cream would have made it better, but this worked out fine. I will try again with the ingredients specified, but it got me thinking - you could probably do a "broccoli casserole", with frozen broccoli, condensed broccoli soup, and the other ingredients here. Maybe I'll try that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
One of my favorite recipes from this site! Always a winner and I make this for Thnksgvng. I do reduce the sour cream a bit & use the whole can of cr. of mushroom. Also add a can of corn to this. I LIKE canned Campbell's soups (they are comfort food to me) so I really, really enjoy this recipe. I can understand, though, if you don't like canned soups/sour cream combinations you probably wouldn't like this recipe. (: All to taste, and here's to comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I used fresh, steamed green beans as I had some that needed to be used. I used healthy choice soup, light sour cream & I am out of Ritz crackers so I used club crackers. I added a bit of onion powder to add flavor, used season-all for the salt & I did catch Breeze/RadiatingMom's review so I cut the sour cream down to half a cup. I served this w/ leftover Molasses Butter Pork Chops (home recipe) & Smushed Apples & Sweet Potatoes (from allrecipes). I liked this better than the traditional green bean casserole & so did hubby...thanks Breeze, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
WOW ... so easy and so perfectly wonderful for that special dinner. I didn't make this one, I had my husband make it. He didn't change a thing in the recipe. This proved what an easy to make dish this one is because he doesn't make casseroles. He loved it as much as I did, and so did all the folks around the table at Thanksgiving dinner. We didn't have to worry about leftovers .. there were NONE !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States