Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is way better with frozen green beans. To jazz it up a bit, I sauteed fresh sliced mushrooms in butter with shallot, added 1 tsp. soy sauce and 1/2 tsp. dried tarragon. Used only 1/4 cup sour cream. Yep... changed the recipe quite a bit, and it sure was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Since coming to America two months ago I am trying some of the things that we never had back home. There are so many things that I have never seen, theres so much in your stores. This did not taste fresh. It tasted more like canned which we do have back home. We prefer fresh vegetables and homemade stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
We did not care for this. After cutting back on the sour cream and using 99% fat free soup we thought it was a little bland. Everyone should try whatever recipe appeals to them since this is just our personal preference. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
*****Note: The recipe was supposed to say 1/2 cup of sour cream. I have asked Allrecipes to revise the recipe. Also, I use reduced fat and sodium soup when I make this up; adjust salt to suit your own personal taste. Happy Cooking! RadiatingMom/Breeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Cut back on the sour cream and did not need to add any of the salt. The soup alone has plenty of to go around. Other than having to tweak a bit, I thought this was a nice change from the usual GB casserole. Thanks RadiatingMom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I just tried this recipe tonight with my two kids. My husband is out of town and does not like most of the ingredients that this one calls for. So I figured it owuld be a good time to try it. We liked it somewhat. I omitted some of the sourcream it called for and the sourcream still over powered alot of the taste. That is why I gave it 3 stars. Even for my taste which I love sour cream did not care for that much of it. Also it made the bottom of the pan gooey and juicey. wasn't attractive at all. This is the first time I've cooked any of the recipes from this web site. I fixed this dish with some Fried Chicken and mashed potatoes and gravy. The Fried Chicken I am gonna do a review on too because it was awsome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
quick and easy recipe - perfect for a large group. i would definitely use a little less of the recommended sour cream and soup, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I have been using this recipe for years and it's wonderful. At first people think it's weird that you use sour cream instead of milk. It's much more creamy this way and gives it a nice difference. I have never had any complaints on this recipe, even from people that don't like sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I really didn't like this. I looooove sour cream, but I think mixed in with cream of mushroom soup was just not for me. I also thought there weren't enough green beans and/or too much sour cream-soup mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States