Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was the 2nd loaf bread recipe that I've tried and it is a keeper. It's similar to most store bought sliced bread. My family likes it and so do I. However, we prefer the honey flavored recipe I found on this website. For those who don't care for honey though, this recipe is easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
the only problem I have is that this is not a whole wheat recipe. Whole wheat= all whole wheat flour, thus whole. So besides not being what it says, it's a good "Wheat bread" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very good bread. Perfect for sandwiches. I also made a couple adjustments, which is why it's not a five-star rating. I added 2 tablespoons brown sugar and 2 tablespoons honey to give the bread a little extra flavor. It only made one loaf, which is perfect for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I can't say that I like this much. The bread is very bland and dense. I read a review for this and saw that it probably would've been better to use less flour and a bit of honey but I haven't had the chance to try those suggestions since I just tried this recipe today. This is definitely not a two loaf recipe. I have two small bread pans and neither loaf could fill them. I'll be trying again with the suggestions below but as is, I can't say I like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Chatan, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
It was easy to put together and the taste was good. I didn't have 8x4 pans, so I was hoping to make a rather big 9x5 (since the recipe said it would yield two). So I was a bit disappointed that it made a 9x5 at half the normal size of bread (yes, it doubled in size twice). So I would recommend doubling the flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggourde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ichikawa, Chiba, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Wow! I've been trying to find a wheat bread that isn't too dense for months, and this is IT! Yes, it really only makes one loaf, and I added honey to the mix as it started looking a little dry when I was kneading it, but seriously, this is my new weekly bread. Thank you Chewly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eskimomamma2010
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
the bread was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eskimomamma2010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and added two Tbsp of honey. It tasted great!! My husband really loved it so i made another loaf, as it really only made one, and he took it to the firestation. The guys raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was my first time EVER making a loaf of bread outside of a bread maker so I was a little apprehensive about it. You can imagine my delight when it came out cooked and delicious!! I don't know how you could make 2 loves, but I do live in a dorm building a little on the freezing side sometimes so that could have altered the way it rose either time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dormeats

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was pretty good. My husband liked it better than I did. I made them into rolls, I often prefer rolls to a loaf of bread. It rose great, but was just sort of plain. I took some advise from the reviews and swapped the flour, 2c whole wheat and 1c all purpose. I will make this again but maybe with molasses instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States