Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
If I could give this recipe 4.5 stars, or even 4.75, I would. It's a delicious, soft but substantial loaf of wheat bread and I will make it again. My one complaint is that it by no means makes two loaves of bread. I got one smallish loaf that didn't quite fill my loaf pan. But it was really delicious and worth making in bulk for all-purpose bread around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I read all the reviews on this recipe before trying it and thought it would be a fool proof recipe. I bake bread every week and this recipe was not up to par. It did not rise well after putting into pans. I use even used bread flour. The bread was not that flavorful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefdarci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It didn't raise, so I will not be baking this every again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I haven't baked any bread all winter and this is only the second loaf of bread I've made using whole wheat flour. It came out really well! Found that I only needed 1 and 1/2 cups of the all purpose flour. Oops. Almost forgot I did use bread flour NOT all purpose. The rising time was pretty right on for me. The bake time was different, though. I baked mine at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. This only made one loaf. Next time I won't do the egg wash, as I wanted a softer crust on my wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good recipe...I add oats and flex seeds and less white flour. It came's out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I liked it very much! It was good to read the reviews so I changed the sugar to 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and only made as one loaf. I didn't need to use all the white flour, just as needed. Also, I brushed with the eggwash and sprinkled sesame seads on the top, just before baking. I only sliced one hour after it was baked, so the bread held up well for a sandwich. I made it twice already and each time my husband made me promisse that I would make it again. Gave 5 stars for the bread made with modification from reviewers. Thank you everybody for suggestions and thank you Chewly for a great recipe. I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good basic Whole Wheat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMonty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is my first bread making experience and it has taught me PATIENCE! I didn't quite use all the flour it said to use - I used a cup less because it seemed just fine without it. And I thought it tasted just fine, not to mention the smell of baking bread was amazing. Remember - Just let it rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was a very nice recipe - it was absolutely delicious right out of the oven with butter. However, I found that it didn't taste as good the next day. Just a little too bland for my taste. It was also too crumbly but this was my first time making bread so I might have went wrong somewhere. I'll try it again as it's a super easy recipe and has great potential. I think I'll add honey next time! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Perfect simple recipe for whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States