Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and only needed half a cup of all purpose flour. All other ingredients I used the same amount as the recipe. This gave me one small loaf in a 5X9 pan. I only needed 20 min at 400, so watch it carefully. Didn't rise quite as much as I was hoping it would have in the oven. Taste was good, I would have rated it higher if the yield and baking time were more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thisismyusername
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written except I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar, and I added 2 tablespoons of honey. I used all the flour and had a nice elastic-y ball. There was perhaps 1.5 tablespoons of flour that I could not work into the dough any further. I made only one loaf, with the one hour and 40 min total of rising. My pan was 9X5. The bread tastes awesome, especially since it is my first loaf. The only thing I am not sure about is if it was supposed to rise more. It makes quite a low loaf. Good for sandwiches the size of 1/2 of a normal sandwich... Which I don't mind! I only had my loaf bake for about 20 minutes because at 15 minutes the top was a beautiful dark brown and I did not want it going any darker. I would love if I could figure out how to make this same loaf except have it rise to be the size of a normal loaf. Next time I will double the recipe and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kictola
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Quick and easy. I did a few changes. I used brown sugar instead and 1 tbsp of molasses.I also used instant yeast so I skipped step 1. The bread came out light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I wanted to give this 5 stars but just can't due to the fact that this does not make two loaves - only one! Also, this bread is bland - but that is okay with us because we want our bread to taste 'healthy' not sweet. Per the instructions, you are told to let rise in a warm place...hmmm...where? I decided to heat up the warming plate area on my stove and I placed the bowl on it covered with the damp towel. This worked well. On the second rise, I did the same thing. It never doubled, but rose enough for me to put in oven. If I did not put on the warming plate I don't know if it would have rose properly. I will make this again as opposed to buying from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Amazing taste. If you want to make 2 big loaves make the servings 46, for one big loaf 23 servings. I got raves at Thanksgiving dinner on this bread. Absolutely amazing bread. Even my picky eater kiddos loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Outstanding wheat bread. Like others I found out that the recipe only makes 1 loaf, so I doubled everything except the flour. I started with 2 cups of whole wheat and 2 cups of AP flour, then added just enough additional AP flour to get a fairly wet dough. I added 3 teaspoons of wheat gluten, used brown sugar instead of white, and added 2 tablespoons of dry Italian seasoning. I also warmed the milk for 30 seconds in the microwave before mixing. I mixed and kneaded in my Kitched Aid mixer with the dough hook. Unlike some reviews, I got good rises from both first and second rise. Added: I have eliminated the egg. I mix the dough a little bit wet and the bread has a wonderful soft texture that I love. I make 2 loaves every couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
We tried for the second week in a row and the result was again disappointing: two very flat and dense loaves. We are using them for paninis, because the taste is not bad, but when we make bread at home, we expect them to rise, especially when we follow the recipe exactly and even left longer... but it never doubled the size. Not sure if I will give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIAEDGAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
A great bread! Threw everything into a bread machine and now have a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very fluffy, light tasting wheat bread. Agree with other reviewers that this really only makes one loaf. I also had to have a longer second rising. I gave it an hour and probably could have done an hour-thirty. On the whole though, very easy recipe with a good result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yep, this is pretty simple, though I dislike the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States