Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I took the warning and made this as one loaf originally, but we're going through it so quickly I'm now doubling the recipe to have two loaves. I also give it extra time to really rise well. (Ideally, I mix it up well in advance and then leave it for a few hours before baking.) As a result, its become the staple bread in our house and our dinner guests have been duly impressed by such great homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I made this recipe for the first time today and it is delicious. I used 1/4 cup of honey in addition to the sugar. I also made only one loaf but it could be made in two small loaves. I sprinkled sesame seeds on top of the loaf after I painted it with the egg. A big hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cohoes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This came out delicious. I used more whole wheat and decreased the am't of white flour and it still tasted great. I wet my hands when the dough got too tough while kneading, and this helped it along. Tasted great dipped in olive oil, bit of salt, and fresh sauteed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
it has a good wheaty taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I've followed this recipe twice now, and I am quite pleasntly pleased with the results! The first time through was my first experience making bread and was fotunate enough to read the comments suggesting to make only one loaf. It turned out rather small but the taste was exceptional! The second time though, i made a few modifications (doubling the recipe, adding a little more yeast, giving it more rising time, topping it with sesame seeds and butter, and adding a little molasses) and the results were beyond exceptional! I strongly urge anyone who trys this recipe to first double it, and second to give it a little more rising time. You won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
this is a no mistake & wonderful bread Thank You , Marcella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This bread is great!! It taste good and is very easy to make. I couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This was my first time baking bread and it was a great success with my family! I was looking for a simple whole wheat recipe since I had a big can of wheat berries in my food storage. I didn't have a wheat grinder, so I just ground them up in my osterizer/blender to make the wheat flour and it was great! I also heeded the advice of the earlier reviews and added a tablespoon of honey (could have added more) and kept the recipe to one loaf pan. I added about 10 minutes to each of the rise times, as well. I am eating it 3 days later and it's still moist! I will definately make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I have never had much success baking bread before even with a bread machine but this recipe turned out perfect! It rose and tasted great. It was light textured, not dense like some bread can be and even days later it still tasted fresh and didn't crumble. I found out half way through mixing I was out of white sugar so I substituted brown sugar and it worked fine. This is my new one and only bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
It turned out really good! However, i had to remove the sugar because my husband cannot have any, and then put 2 cups wheat flour and one cup all purpose flour! it was very crunchy in the outside and then soft and moist in the inside. my husband just loved it! He said God made me to be his wife so i could bake him this kind of bread! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States