Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I tried this recipe twice and found that not only did it not rise, but it was tough once baked and did not fill two pans as described in the recipe. To see if I was doing something wrong I tried a more difficult recipe and found the second recipe turned out beautifully. So I tried this recipe again and had the same result as the first time. It might be that it needs more flour or something, unless the recipe is intended to turn out as it did. If that's the case, then I'm sure the recipe is very good to those who enjoy bread like that. Sorry if this sounds harsh, I was just surprised and disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
it has a good wheaty taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
Very, very tasty! I made two loaves, as suggested, and they were quite tiny -- but hey: all the easier to devour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
its funny that i didnt look at the reviews for this recipe before i went ahead and made it.. and now after i see this, its no surprise to me now that after the punch down, it didnt rise all that much the second time.. boy.. i was upset that it didnt rise, thinking that i might have done something wrong, but now i see that others had the same "non-rising experence".. but as the others say.. the flavour was great, and it was quite easy to make. but i am still baffled as to why it rose so nicely the first time, and didnt the second after the punch down.. who knows.. but was still good in the end!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
After reading the other reviews I decided to go out on a limb and try just making one loaf. This recipe makes one nice loaf of wheat bread....there must be an error. Don't cut the dough in half, make one loaf and you will be happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I totally agree with the other reviewers - THIS ONLY MAKES ONE LOAF! Despite that, the taste is fantastic and I'm definitely going to try it again, but only making one loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This was my first shot at baking bread, ever! I did it while my wife was at work so that I could surprise her with fresh baked Wheat Bread when she got home. I was so proud of my two tiny loaves. She outright laughed at my first attempt at baking until the taste test. We both loved it! It will, however, just be a one loaf recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This bread is not a two loaf receipe, unless you have really tiny pans. The secret to rising and getting nice fluffy bread is to wait until it doubles. Putting it in a warm (not hot) and moist environ is a big help in getting it to rise better. Course using good (new) yeast also helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I've followed this recipe twice now, and I am quite pleasntly pleased with the results! The first time through was my first experience making bread and was fotunate enough to read the comments suggesting to make only one loaf. It turned out rather small but the taste was exceptional! The second time though, i made a few modifications (doubling the recipe, adding a little more yeast, giving it more rising time, topping it with sesame seeds and butter, and adding a little molasses) and the results were beyond exceptional! I strongly urge anyone who trys this recipe to first double it, and second to give it a little more rising time. You won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This was a very good tasting bread but I wish I had read the reviews first. Also I wonder if any one else had a problem with getting it to use 2 cups of white flour? I have made it 2 times and both times could only 1 cup of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States