Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I am sure my dislike is mostly my fault. I used more whole wheat flour than white. I made the mistake by following others advice on some issues, so my bread ended up being broken up for the birds! My husband is a "must have bread at every meal" man, and he didn't eat 1 slice. Also found with such high heat, the bread was a little to dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nosygirl
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used a 9x5 loaf pan and only made one loaf. It was great! I'm going to start doubling it and making it our staple bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nosygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. Fabalous taste. Is a one loaf recipe tho. But for me that is perfect. As we are a family of 2. Thanks so much. Will use this one often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Great! Add strawberries (about 5 fresh diced)into the batter with the flower and a little bit of brown sugar oat flakes and chocolate powder on top and it is even better! This was a light great texture bread. (I sifted the flower though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I too did not read the reviews and made 2 loaves that were very thin. The taste was still great and I will continue to make this bread but I will either make 1 loaf or double the recipe and make 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is a delicious bread, so much better than industrial breads from the supermarket. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Used whole wheat and white bread flour. Had great loft and texture. Not too dense. Ppl really need to be careful with the amount of flour they put in the mix when they make it. Just because a recipe calls for three cups, doesn't mean you will need to put all three in.... A lot depends on the quality/type of ingredients you are using and how dense you like your bread... Often times, a dense bread is simply a product of adding too much flour. Anyway, took me a while to figure that out so thought I'd pass that nugget of info on to others who may not know.... take it or leave it. As for this recipe.... the taste was BLAND! I followed the ingredient list and did not add/substitute anything - even though I had read the reviews. So piece of advice, unless you like really bland bread you might want to add the recommended couple tablespoons of honey or subbing the white sugar for brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Very tasty, easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly. This was the first loaf of bread I've ever made. I think the yeast I used was a little stale so the bread did not rise as I thought it would. In the future, I will use newer yeast and let it rise longer before baking. While the final product was flatter and more dense than I would've liked, the taste of the bread was great! I'm a very picky wheat bread eater. This was very mellow, smooth in taste. Even my picky toddler gobbled up the piece I gave to her. Thanks for this easy-to-make recipe that does not require a breadmaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This bread is pretty good. One thing- this doesn't make enough for 2 loaves, so I doulbed the recipe to get 2 loaves. I ran out of whole wheat flour (only had 1 cup) so I used white whole wheat for the rest. This rose very well, but when I put them into the hot oven to bake, the loaves deflated. I'm sure it's not the recipe though- it's probably me. I had the loaves in the oven (with the light on) to rise, and I removed them to pre-heat the oven. Then I had to put them back in- maybe it was all the movement (although I tried to be really careful). So although my loaves are pretty short, they are still very tasty and soft inside. This recipe was easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Really good. I'm just a beginner with yeast breads, and this turned out. It's very basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States