Classic Whiskey Sour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
pretty stiff drink. not for the faint of heart. Used Makers for whiskey. Needs to be sweetened for true drinkability, so include the cherries and consider a larger ratio of lemon juice to whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLICKAC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Dude, that is a whiskey drinkers whiskey sour. For those hardcore whiskey drinkers who are thinking along the lines of "a real whiskey drinker wouldn't add the mix, ice, etc". Fair enough. I like mine neat also but let's be honest: the ice and lemon tang really does go well on a hot afternoon! I gave this recipe a go with my rye whiskey fave, Forty Creek. The 5 oz did seem high for a recipe. It's more than double of any others I surfed up. But you know what? It's superb. I think you'd want to cut 'er down to two or three for those that don't like the booze to take center stage. I'm gonna hang with this one on hot summer days. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I used some lime simple syrup I had leftover from another recipe. My husband, who's a big whiskey drinker, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Been drinking sours for betterthan30 years...Great receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Nice taste, but very strong. Cut it with some Sprite and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
A nice strong drink. One of the better sours I've had. I decided to use Bushmills given the volume of alcohol vs. the mixers. It's great tasting and very smooth. PS. Ix-nay on the Martini Glass-ay. Go for the tumbler w/ ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Yeow! These are strong. Mama likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great recipe! This is my favorite drink. I like to use Gentleman Jack, and like mine strong. This recipe, as is, was a little strong for my guests so I added another ounce of juice and a 1/2 ounce more of simple syrup & they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neeter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: State Line, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
this is a drink i love and this is a great recipe. i do like to make a little tweak to it however, by adding a dash of blood orange bitters and substituting a wedge of orange for the cherries. i also use rye whiskey for it's mellowness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Explosion of taste. I made it with Makers Mark and the lemon juice trumped the whiskey. If you like lemon juice you'll probably like this drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Pisco Sour Cocktail

A refreshing cocktail with grape brandy, lime juice, and a little egg white.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States