Classic Whiskey Sour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved it! Made one minor change, added another half ounce of simple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Go big or go home! Great recipe; not a bourbon drinker, so I make these with Canadian Club. Perfect. Too strong and/or too sour? Add 1/2 to 1 ounce of orange juice. And you don't get all the chemicals in those sour mixes. My favorite winter drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Whiskey Sours are one of my favorite drinks. (Of course, I've met few drinks that aren't my favorites.) Finding myself with only a bottle of Seagrams 7 and no palatable mixers and too lazy to go to the liquor store for the vodka and/or wine I really wanted, I tried this recipe. I found it way too sour and added A LOT more simple syrup, some cherry juice along with the cherries and a little splash of orange juice since I didn't have any fresh oranges. I like a slice of orange in my whiskey sours. Then it tasted real gooooooood. Poured it in a big ol' wine goblet along with the ice and drank it all myself. Lucky me! hiccup. . . Granted it would probably be better (or stronger) with a real whiskey, but I thought the whiskey amount was just about right for my three-drink maximum goblet. Next time, less lemon juice, more sugar syrup, orange and lots of cherries. Drink up and go home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is a perfect recipe for whiskey sours. It matches the recipe given to me by the ONLY bartender in my city I allow to make them for me (this was after having very terrible versions of what people called whiskey sours). The bartender uses W.L. Weller as the choice of whiskey. A very delicious drink... when made right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Note, this recipe is for THREE drinks. For one use 3 oz whiskey, 1 oz lemon juice, .5 oz syrup (or more to taste. I usually put a little of the cherry juice in as well. A true classic cocktail and easy to make. I prefer the Manhattan to the sour, but to each his or her own. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Hadn't had a Whiskey Sour in YEARS! But found this recipe and really liked it. No mixes, just straight sweet/sour and whiskey! It's the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
OK, ya'll..........this recipe will kick your booty! My changes were as follows: substituted the simple syrup for Rose's Sweetented Lime Juice and had to add 3 pkgs. of Splenda to make it palatable. Otherwise I used the recipe as written. Woohoo, good stuff Mainard!!! Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Sprite? Makers? Bushmills? Get real! A PROPER whiskey sour should be made real American bourbon. Maker's Mark is not a real bourbon because it is made with corn/wheat instead of the corn/barley/rye of a proper bourbon mash bill. Thus it lacks the rye "bite" that makes bourbon worth drinking. I call it whiskey with training wheels for those who have not learned to drink real whiskey. Bushmills and Gentleman Jack are not bourbons at all. Yes a whiskey sour is a strong drink, and those who are not up to it should drink something else rather than dilute it with (yech!) Sprite. I use Wild Turkey 101 or Wild Turkey Rye, and find this recipe perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I've been using a similar recipe for years - but I do equal parts syrup and I add the cherries and a slice of orange to the mix while blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I modified it 1:2:4 and it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Pisco Sour Cocktail

A refreshing cocktail with grape brandy, lime juice, and a little egg white.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States