Classic Whiskey Sour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Dude, that is a whiskey drinkers whiskey sour. For those hardcore whiskey drinkers who are thinking along the lines of "a real whiskey drinker wouldn't add the mix, ice, etc". Fair enough. I like mine neat also but let's be honest: the ice and lemon tang really does go well on a hot afternoon! I gave this recipe a go with my rye whiskey fave, Forty Creek. The 5 oz did seem high for a recipe. It's more than double of any others I surfed up. But you know what? It's superb. I think you'd want to cut 'er down to two or three for those that don't like the booze to take center stage. I'm gonna hang with this one on hot summer days. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Just made my first whiskey sour i am done with bars almost perfect little to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nameless1252

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is not a good recipe at all. First, the proportions are off. There is too much whiskey. The drink is far too potent. At the same time, there is too much lemon. And not enough sugar. The result is that the drink tastes like you are drinking whiskey sour concentrate. I made enough for 20 drinks and had to add more sugar, and water and a can of lemon soda (I used Pelligrino limonata), then it was fine, but who likes to stand there mixing like a chemist when a dozen people are clamoring for booze. The interesting thing is that the recipe sites using these ingredients (whiskey, lemon juice and simple sugar) all use different proportions. Whatever the correct proportions are, it ain't this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
A nice strong drink. One of the better sours I've had. I decided to use Bushmills given the volume of alcohol vs. the mixers. It's great tasting and very smooth. PS. Ix-nay on the Martini Glass-ay. Go for the tumbler w/ ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Did not change a thing. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is the classic whiskey sour recipe, and it's good. If you like this one, try decreasing the simple syrup and adding cointreau to taste. Nummmy (and not for the faint at heart). Even better with a sugared rim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Yeow! These are strong. Mama likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great recipe! This is my favorite drink. I like to use Gentleman Jack, and like mine strong. This recipe, as is, was a little strong for my guests so I added another ounce of juice and a 1/2 ounce more of simple syrup & they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neeter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: State Line, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is great. We tried it with lime juice too (ran out of lemons) and that was very good too. Personally, I liked it with a little more syrup than called for. I am so happy I don't have to rely on those sour mixes (yuck!) anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is my offical tailgate beverage of the 2009 GT Yellowjacket season. I make a few pitchers with Makers and people love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakonda, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Pumpkin Whiskey Cocktail

See how to make the perfect cold-weather cocktail.

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States