Classic Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We all enjoyed these for breakfast with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. The only thing I do differently is make waffles in the blender. First I whip up the egg in the blender then add the rest of the wet ingredients and blend quickly. Then add the mixed dry ingredients to the blender and use the stir cycle until well mixed. Then I pour it directly onto the waffle iron. I add extra milk to thin out the batter if it needs it. Easy! and a nice treat. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
My family liked this recipes I did make some alterations to the mix, I add 5 Tbls of sugar and 1 1/4 stick of real butter (melted) and about 3 Tbls of vanilla I know from past mistakes when cooking other recipes the bread didn't come out to sweet. This is a nice sweet I know it sounds like alot of sugar but it all balances out. I will definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
915 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The only thing I did different than the directions stated to do was I sifted the flour, baking power & sugar before I added the liquid ingredients. If we could my husband and I would give this a 10 star rating. Also remember to put the hot waffle on paper towels because otherwise they do get steamy/soggy without. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.. no more mixes for us!! YUMMO (just like Rachel Ray says) ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
698 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Glad to find this recipe as it is close to my mother's recipe that I lost. I separated the eggs and folded in the whites last. This is the way my mom's recipe was and it makes the waffles lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
1st time cooking waffles and it came out great. I agree that separating the yolks and whites makes it better. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Having never made a waffle until now, and having never even eaten one other than an Eggo, I have no basis to compare this recipe with any other. Having said that, all I know is hubby and I enjoyed our breakfast this morning! In comparing this recipe with other similar recipes, including the one included in the manual, this one called for twice the amount of salt, so I reduced it by half keeping all other ingredients and measurements the same, and beat the eggs well to lighten them up. The waffle was crispy on the outside, but tender on the inside, with good flavor. My only criticism, and certainly no fault of the recipe, is that my waffle maker anyway, cooks unevenly, with some parts of the waffle browning more than others. Maybe it just takes practice spreading the batter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Wow! Perfect recipe for "Classic Waffles"! I got a waffle maker and couldn't wait to try it out. They were crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. This recipe is perfect as-is, but if you want a sweeter waffle you can up the sugar to as much as you like. I upped it to about 4-6 Tbsp and was liberal with the vanilla. These are delicious topped with real maple syrup or fresh fruit and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
The first time I made these, they were a little bland. I added 1t of cinnamon and used real butter this time, and they were outstanding. Crispy, light, and full of flavor. The best waffles I've made :) They stay crispier if you pull them to one plate to cool slightly, then move them to another. The steam condenses on the first plate. I made them with home fries...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
These are so good!!! Way better than the ones you buy at the store. I made 32 of them and have them in the freezer. We had them with stewed blueberries and whip cream but they are good with just a bit of margarine and some syrup. Thanks for the recipe. I am from Nova Scotia, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
these were GREAT! I did not have butter, so I used applesauce... It tasted GREAT and it was good for you!... I added less milk, lees baking powder, and 1 tablespoon moore of sugar... um... beacuase I did not have any vanilla, I added the juice of half a lemon and about 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon... GREAT combination... OH! and make sure you have a good syrup.. I used maple/blueberry!!!! delicious!!! I really hope you try this!!! really really really GOOD!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States