Classic Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This classic is elegant in its simplicity but the choice of ingredients is critical. Avoid any temptation to substitute lower quality, pre-processed or packaged ingredients for the sake of time or convenience. Using half and half instead of heavy cream, processed potatoes instead of fresh, or canned chicken broth instead of homemade will ruin this dish. Remember: Bad Vichyssoise is like wallpaper paste but doesn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fuzzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This is a great basic recipe for Vichyssoise, Priscilla. I used 4 leeks, added a bit more butter, increased the cooking time to 20 minutes in step 1 and to 1 hour in step 2. After the puree stage, I whisked in my heavy cream, and I used a full 2 cups to achieve the type of rich and creamy texture I am used to in this dish. I then covered and chilled, and garnished with chives before serving with Awsomely Easy Sesame Asparagus and Garlic Butter bread (recipes also on this site) for a fabulous meal last night. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was a great recipe for potato leek soup! The only change I would make is to add some garlic to the leeks next time. I also haven't added the cream yet, because it is cooling, and I'm not sure I need to; it's that good without it. I think this would be a great hot soup in the winter, it's nice and hearty and filling. I might finish it all before it cools enough to serve cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Vichyssoise is a classic minimalist recipe (it is American, not French) that should not be altered to make it taste like a baked potato by adding bacon and sour cream. Eesh! Nor is it served hot. That said, I think newbies should be reminded to soak and rinse well your chopped leeks to wash away the almost invisible sand in them. This can ruin a lovely soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just a note about the history and uses of this basic recipe... Most people believe the chef who invented vichyssoise was French, working in America; his name was Louis Diat, working at the Ritz-Carlton in NYC. He based the recipe on his mother's leek and potato soup, which is an old French classic hot winter soup. His innovation is trying it as a cold summer soup. So, those who have (sensibly) tasted it hot and found how good it is, are just discovering a classic French soup. And yes, it can be bland, which is why the French often use herbs when making it. Note on the bay leaf, I graded this recipe down because it is always necessary to remove bay leaves before blending or serving and the recipe does not mention that. They can actually be dangerous. The only bay that can be left in is the powdered version (which does not last as long). My other objection is that the recipe should mention that leeks need to be cleaned carefully to get out any sand. It should also say "white part only" which is the most easily usable part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Our favorite French restaurant had Vichyssoise as the soup d'jour couple of nights ago. I loved it so much that it inspired me to make my own. This recipe was easy to follow and the soup came out amazing. Instead of a blender, I used a hand mixer right in the pot. The only suggestion I have is to cut the potatoes into small cubes because the hand mixer doesn't blend it as smooth as the blender so I had small chunks of potatoes and onions in the final product. My boyfriend LOVED the soup, he said it was better than some of the vichyssoise they serve is restaurants. ALL THUMBS UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
EXCELLANT !!! I too, used fresh thyme I have a nice kitchen herb garden... Followed it exactly, served it cold with a nice Caesar salad, as another reveiwer suggested. Wonderful on a hot day, in response to Jenni...Chicken stock makes ALL the difference !! That's the subtlety 'under' the potatoes and leeks that makes Vichyssoise - Vichyssoise, LOL !! Try it for yourself with chicken and taste the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This soup was down right elegant!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I had fresh thyme, that needed using, so I used 1/2 tsp of that. I tried some at room temperature and then gently warmed some. Personally, I like it warm. That little bit of cream really gives it a lovely velvety texture. Thanks for such a delightful and simple to prepare recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I served this cold in shot glasses at my french themed coctail party. It was delicous cold. I had the leftovers hot with a salad and bread. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by gapey
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
A very tasty soup. I enjoyed it warm. I would suggest fishing out the bay leaf before processing or eliminating it. Found unprocessed pieces in the soup while eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States