Classic Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was a great recipe for potato leek soup! The only change I would make is to add some garlic to the leeks next time. I also haven't added the cream yet, because it is cooling, and I'm not sure I need to; it's that good without it. I think this would be a great hot soup in the winter, it's nice and hearty and filling. I might finish it all before it cools enough to serve cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
EXCELLANT !!! I too, used fresh thyme I have a nice kitchen herb garden... Followed it exactly, served it cold with a nice Caesar salad, as another reveiwer suggested. Wonderful on a hot day, in response to Jenni...Chicken stock makes ALL the difference !! That's the subtlety 'under' the potatoes and leeks that makes Vichyssoise - Vichyssoise, LOL !! Try it for yourself with chicken and taste the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This soup was down right elegant!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I had fresh thyme, that needed using, so I used 1/2 tsp of that. I tried some at room temperature and then gently warmed some. Personally, I like it warm. That little bit of cream really gives it a lovely velvety texture. Thanks for such a delightful and simple to prepare recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
OK I think I butchered this recipe. I didn't have a blender or food processor so I strained it. Haha. It came out super smooth. I think I'll serve the pulp hot. It's kind of like mashed potatoes...or gourmet baby food. Perfect for my dinner guest tonight who just had her wisdom teeth out! Oh I forgot to mention that I decided to add green food colouring to make it look more "leeky". I am so not helpful. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gluk0se

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I served this cold in shot glasses at my french themed coctail party. It was delicous cold. I had the leftovers hot with a salad and bread. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I served it hot and it was great. Really, really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Tastes great, plus pretty easy to pull together. Freezes well (just reheat thoroughly and slowly). Looks good with unpeeled, red-skinned potatoes mixed in to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious!! I put this soup into jars for some cast members at our cast party for "Nunsense" since the show mentioned Vichychoise in it!! It was a hit with everyone - well done and I will make it again!! My boyfriend had a bowl of it before canning and he said it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is good soup, but could be better in my opinion. Fresh garlic would add a lot. I resisted the urge to change it before making it as the original recipe states and I'm a little disappointed that I didn't listen to my gut and add the garlic. It could just be a personal preference though, which is why I didn't lower the rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States