Classic Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was amazing! My dad can't have milk, though, so I used bacon in it instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abskerdoodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Great recipe. Used fresh potatoes and leek. Used organic chicken stock and added more thyme, a dash of oregano, and ham chunks (reducing the amount of salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The saying "If it's not broken, don't fix it" comes to mind making this. Made as it supposed to be made, it's simply delicious. Altering it with various ingredient substitutions and/or additions it's no longer "Classic Vichyssoise", but rather a completely different potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just a note about the history and uses of this basic recipe... Most people believe the chef who invented vichyssoise was French, working in America; his name was Louis Diat, working at the Ritz-Carlton in NYC. He based the recipe on his mother's leek and potato soup, which is an old French classic hot winter soup. His innovation is trying it as a cold summer soup. So, those who have (sensibly) tasted it hot and found how good it is, are just discovering a classic French soup. And yes, it can be bland, which is why the French often use herbs when making it. Note on the bay leaf, I graded this recipe down because it is always necessary to remove bay leaves before blending or serving and the recipe does not mention that. They can actually be dangerous. The only bay that can be left in is the powdered version (which does not last as long). My other objection is that the recipe should mention that leeks need to be cleaned carefully to get out any sand. It should also say "white part only" which is the most easily usable part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Used fresh thyme and oregano (instead of marjoram). This is a very simple, yet delicious, recipe, especially if you have an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Tried this tonight, and was actually looking forward to cooking it all week. It is absolutely delicious, I added two mushrooms and some garlic. But otherwise, this was well worth it. And it smelled (and tasted great) steaming hot. Thanks or sharing. My wife and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
4.5 Broke the tradition of cold soup as I don't like my soup cold, LOVELY as hot soup! Made this again and was out of majoram so internet suggested basil as a subsitute. Also did not add cream or milk this time and I think it was even better!! (most likely as I added a bit of garlic to the leek/onion mix)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Elegant and excellent! Compared to other vichyssoises, this one uses very little cream and is much lower in fat. Honestly, it is so rich ‘n creamy and loaded with flavor that it doesn’t even need the cream. Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
OK I think I butchered this recipe. I didn't have a blender or food processor so I strained it. Haha. It came out super smooth. I think I'll serve the pulp hot. It's kind of like mashed potatoes...or gourmet baby food. Perfect for my dinner guest tonight who just had her wisdom teeth out! Oh I forgot to mention that I decided to add green food colouring to make it look more "leeky". I am so not helpful. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gluk0se

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Vichyssoise is a classic minimalist recipe (it is American, not French) that should not be altered to make it taste like a baked potato by adding bacon and sour cream. Eesh! Nor is it served hot. That said, I think newbies should be reminded to soak and rinse well your chopped leeks to wash away the almost invisible sand in them. This can ruin a lovely soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States