Classic Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I served it hot and it was great. Really, really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This is a great basic recipe for Vichyssoise, Priscilla. I used 4 leeks, added a bit more butter, increased the cooking time to 20 minutes in step 1 and to 1 hour in step 2. After the puree stage, I whisked in my heavy cream, and I used a full 2 cups to achieve the type of rich and creamy texture I am used to in this dish. I then covered and chilled, and garnished with chives before serving with Awsomely Easy Sesame Asparagus and Garlic Butter bread (recipes also on this site) for a fabulous meal last night. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This did not turn out AT ALL. i changed the chicken stock to vegetable stock since i was serving vegetarians... but it shouldn't have made that big of a difference.... It tasted alright, but nothing at all what i was expecting or imagine it is supposed to taste like. And it was certainly the wrong color all together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
quick and easy I doubled it, just because some left-over are a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was a great recipe for potato leek soup! The only change I would make is to add some garlic to the leeks next time. I also haven't added the cream yet, because it is cooling, and I'm not sure I need to; it's that good without it. I think this would be a great hot soup in the winter, it's nice and hearty and filling. I might finish it all before it cools enough to serve cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This soup was down right elegant!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I had fresh thyme, that needed using, so I used 1/2 tsp of that. I tried some at room temperature and then gently warmed some. Personally, I like it warm. That little bit of cream really gives it a lovely velvety texture. Thanks for such a delightful and simple to prepare recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
it was quick and easy i made it early so id have time for the rest of the dayall i needed to do was heat it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This classic is elegant in its simplicity but the choice of ingredients is critical. Avoid any temptation to substitute lower quality, pre-processed or packaged ingredients for the sake of time or convenience. Using half and half instead of heavy cream, processed potatoes instead of fresh, or canned chicken broth instead of homemade will ruin this dish. Remember: Bad Vichyssoise is like wallpaper paste but doesn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fuzzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I served this cold in shot glasses at my french themed coctail party. It was delicous cold. I had the leftovers hot with a salad and bread. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
EXCELLANT !!! I too, used fresh thyme I have a nice kitchen herb garden... Followed it exactly, served it cold with a nice Caesar salad, as another reveiwer suggested. Wonderful on a hot day, in response to Jenni...Chicken stock makes ALL the difference !! That's the subtlety 'under' the potatoes and leeks that makes Vichyssoise - Vichyssoise, LOL !! Try it for yourself with chicken and taste the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States