Classic Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Vichyssoise is a classic minimalist recipe (it is American, not French) that should not be altered to make it taste like a baked potato by adding bacon and sour cream. Eesh! Nor is it served hot. That said, I think newbies should be reminded to soak and rinse well your chopped leeks to wash away the almost invisible sand in them. This can ruin a lovely soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is good soup, but could be better in my opinion. Fresh garlic would add a lot. I resisted the urge to change it before making it as the original recipe states and I'm a little disappointed that I didn't listen to my gut and add the garlic. It could just be a personal preference though, which is why I didn't lower the rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapey
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
A very tasty soup. I enjoyed it warm. I would suggest fishing out the bay leaf before processing or eliminating it. Found unprocessed pieces in the soup while eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was good but I will probably try a different recipe. I made as a pair to a two tone soup. The other was an avacado soup. I ate it hot and added a tad of Olive Oil. I think the color problems others had were becasue they carmelized the onions. I added the stock alittle early I was tired of stirring. The avacado soup called for white pepper so I added a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious!! I put this soup into jars for some cast members at our cast party for "Nunsense" since the show mentioned Vichychoise in it!! It was a hit with everyone - well done and I will make it again!! My boyfriend had a bowl of it before canning and he said it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was a good potato and leek soup. I did have problems, however, with the amount of butter called for. I did not feel like 1 tablespoon of butter was sufficient enough to stop the leeks, onions and potatos from sticking to the bottom of the pan. I ended up putting olive oil in so that they would not stick (butter would have been better, but a bit too high in calories). At the end, I puréed this soup with an immersion blender and topped it of with sea salt. I served warm with heavy cream mixed in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love the use of bay leaf, thyme and marjoram in this recipe. Instead of whipping cream, I used fat-free half-and-half to thin the soup to proper consistency and then served the soup in small cups with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of snipped chives. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
me and my family thought this soup was ok. but it was soooooo thick it was like gravy!! i had to add a TON of water to even get it to a soup consistency. it tasted really good though just way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Tastes great, plus pretty easy to pull together. Freezes well (just reheat thoroughly and slowly). Looks good with unpeeled, red-skinned potatoes mixed in to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States