Classic Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
The sauce is delicious! I made the recipe for 3 people so reduced the quantity of ingredients a bit. I also used 4 veal scaloppini which require very little cooking. I skipped step 1 and 2 in the recipe (dredging, searing and warming). I sauteed the mushrooms and shallots in the olive oil. I made the marsala sauce in the same skillet but used only 1/2 of the broth the recipe calls for (1 cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup beef broth). I reduced the sauce to about 1 1/2 cups but found it a bit runny so I added a bit of cornstarch mixed with water to thicken and cooked the veal in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This recipe is awesome, I added a little brown sugar in the end, which made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna3362

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This dish was excellent! Lots of compliments from my husband and 12 year old! We traded the scallions for some green onions and white onion. We traded the veal for thin cut pork chops. Also, we used one can of beef broth and one can of chicken broth and two beef bullion cubes. We added a little corn starch also so there would be more broth. We still almost did not have enough. Will not let it boil down so much next time. We had to use more olive oil than stated because some of the flour did not even get coated with just one tbsp of oil. We used salted butter because I did not want to purchase unsalted for this one recipe, and it tasted wonderful anyway. We also like a lot of garlic, so we added a little more. I had never had Marsala sauce, but my husband eats it every time we go out, and he went ga-ga over it. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is not a dish I make very often, so I was looking for a fairly simple, straightforward recipe. This is it. Easy to follow instructions, basic ingredients, delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Good, but not what I expected for the amount of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is a delicious recipe. If you do not want to wait the 30 minutes to reduce the stock, add 1 teaspoon of cornstarch, and you will have a nice stock in 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Great!!!! Easy to make and vary tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The recipe has too much liquid and boiling time is too long and ruins the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this exactly as listed - not much flavor - I think it needs more wine and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was the best veal marsala I ever had. The only changes I made were: I used less broth (2 cups total) less flour (about 1/2 cup). I didn't have shallots so I used scallions instead. It took a while to cook down but the veal was being kept warm in the oven and the end result made it worth the wait. My husband absolutely loved it and it will be a regular with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States