Classic Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This recipe was tremendous. I have tried many Marsala recipes, but this is by far the only one I have ever made that is “Second To None”. The only change I made was to reduce the chicken broth to one cup. My family likes a lot of gravy/sauce so I did not reduce the liquid, however, I did thicken it with flour which enabled it to stay on the pasta. I rated this with 5 STARS, although it Rated a 10 at our dinner table. Thanks Nan for sharing.☺
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Loved this recipe! Probably the best Marsala I've ever made. I will be trying it again soon with chicken. Definitely do NOT reduce the sauce down to 1/4 cup, though. It's just not enough sauce. I reduced to about a cup and still wish I had had more! Will probably reduce to 1 1/2 cups next time. Also, I was thinking about omiting the butter at the end but ended up leaving it. Definitely a good idea because finishing the sauce with the butter is the perfect touch! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Hubby, and I loved this meal! Did'nt change a thing. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Wonderful recipe in every way. I included turkey breast slices along with the veal because my husband doesn't eat beef. Served it with angel hair pasta (dressed with a small amount butter, a little extra virgin olive oil, a touch of garlic and a few shavings of parmesan cheese.) Three of us polished off 6 servings! I added a little more garlic and forgot the finishing butter, but no matter--we're going to have this often (when we're not counting calories!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
The flavor was delicious and my husband and I loved it. I served it over egg noodles. I made the mistake of NOT using low sodium broth, and it was too salty, so the noodles toned that down some. I agree with other raters about the reduction. After 30 minutes it didn't look like it was going to thicken or reduce a whole lot, so I added a little flour, reduced to about 1 to 1 1/2 cups, and I needed that much as we love sauce. Thank you for the recipe, my first time making marsala and I will make this a regular part of my meals now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. I was not able to find veal so I used 1 1/2 pounds of chicken breast pieces and it turned out great! The Marsala gave a rich flavor and mushroom sauce was superb. I added cornstarch to some broth and thickened the sauce, intentionally keeping the sauce from reducing as a lot of sauce is much better than almost no sauce. If anything, more broth should be added so the sauce is plentiful. I skipped the addition of butter at the end as totally unnecessary. I served the chicken Marsala adjacent to olive-oiled and parmesan covered tri-color noodles. For dessert: creme brule. Wish you were here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This is better than most restaurants. I've made it twice and got rave reviews both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
My husband could not get enough of this veal. I didn't use chicken broth as I didn't have it on hand. I used all beef broth. Really really excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was so easy to make and was a huge it in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was very, very good. I'll cook it a few more times before it's finally delicious. I did not change the recipe, except that I used Land O'Lakes "Fresh Buttery Spread" instead of butter, and I did not use any flour or cornstarch because I wanted a low-carb version. I also failed to use low-sodium beef and chicken broth, and that made a big difference because I did reduce the sauce all the way down to about half a cup, and so the sauce, though very, very good, was salty. Next time, I will definitely use low-sodium stock. Also, when I remake this (and I definitely will), I will add the mushrooms (which I always sautee separately) after reducing the sauce, and I will sautee the veal at the end. Keeping the veal in the oven did seem to make it just a tad less tender, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States