Classic Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
THis was a great recipe, and pretty easy. I read it wrong (and after reading the reviews, i think that was a good thing. I didn't reduce it down to 1/4 cup, I reduced it to 1/4 of it's original 4 cups of liquid. This left 1 cup of suace, which was perfect to cover the veal, and the pasta I made to go with it. It was a thin sauce, but it was thicker than the broth was originally, and I made sure it had cooled enough so the butter thickened it and didn't get greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This is outstanding dish. My wife thinks I'm culinary expert after this one. It did take longer than expected for liquid to reduce. I will cut down amount of broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
You cannot expect to reduce 3 cups of broth and a cup of wine to 1/4 cup unless you have 1 hr to cook. Add Marsala and stir in juices from the veal, heavy cream and butter. Forget the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Loved this recipe! Probably the best Marsala I've ever made. I will be trying it again soon with chicken. Definitely do NOT reduce the sauce down to 1/4 cup, though. It's just not enough sauce. I reduced to about a cup and still wish I had had more! Will probably reduce to 1 1/2 cups next time. Also, I was thinking about omiting the butter at the end but ended up leaving it. Definitely a good idea because finishing the sauce with the butter is the perfect touch! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This recipe was tremendous. I have tried many Marsala recipes, but this is by far the only one I have ever made that is “Second To None”. The only change I made was to reduce the chicken broth to one cup. My family likes a lot of gravy/sauce so I did not reduce the liquid, however, I did thicken it with flour which enabled it to stay on the pasta. I rated this with 5 STARS, although it Rated a 10 at our dinner table. Thanks Nan for sharing.☺
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Although the basic ingredients in this recipe are great, following the instructions and amounts exactly would yield an undesirable result. I agree with another reviewer, who felt that it would take much longer than 30 min. to reduce 2 cups of chicken stock, 1 cup of beef stock, and 1 cup of marsala. I omitted 1 cup of stock, and it still took over 30 min. to reduce it to a suitable thickness. The recipe calls for way too much flour for dredging the veal, but fortunately you will need to add some of it to your scrapings in your pan in order to thicken this much liquid. Of course, one could just reduce the sauce longer, but the problem is that the veal is sitting in the oven the whole time, and will be shockingly overdone by then. I would avoid reducing or omitting the butter from the sauce, as this creats a great velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent!!! We substitute pork tenderloin for veal on Veal Scallopini so I tried the same in this. Worked perfect !! I actually like the pork a lot better than veal. Will make this often as we are big Marsala fans. I didn't let it cook down as far as 1/4 cup either. Wanted lots of sauce !! Pounded the pork down to thin pieces also !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
The flavor was delicious and my husband and I loved it. I served it over egg noodles. I made the mistake of NOT using low sodium broth, and it was too salty, so the noodles toned that down some. I agree with other raters about the reduction. After 30 minutes it didn't look like it was going to thicken or reduce a whole lot, so I added a little flour, reduced to about 1 to 1 1/2 cups, and I needed that much as we love sauce. Thank you for the recipe, my first time making marsala and I will make this a regular part of my meals now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. I was not able to find veal so I used 1 1/2 pounds of chicken breast pieces and it turned out great! The Marsala gave a rich flavor and mushroom sauce was superb. I added cornstarch to some broth and thickened the sauce, intentionally keeping the sauce from reducing as a lot of sauce is much better than almost no sauce. If anything, more broth should be added so the sauce is plentiful. I skipped the addition of butter at the end as totally unnecessary. I served the chicken Marsala adjacent to olive-oiled and parmesan covered tri-color noodles. For dessert: creme brule. Wish you were here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Wonderful recipe in every way. I included turkey breast slices along with the veal because my husband doesn't eat beef. Served it with angel hair pasta (dressed with a small amount butter, a little extra virgin olive oil, a touch of garlic and a few shavings of parmesan cheese.) Three of us polished off 6 servings! I added a little more garlic and forgot the finishing butter, but no matter--we're going to have this often (when we're not counting calories!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States