Classic Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I gave this recipe 4 stars even though I did not try it because I make chicken marsala almost exactly like this and it is delicious -- ALTHOUGH, I think there may be a mistake in the amounts given for the marsala and the broth. It would take a very long time for 4(four) cups of liquid to reduce to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This recipe was tremendous. I have tried many Marsala recipes, but this is by far the only one I have ever made that is “Second To None”. The only change I made was to reduce the chicken broth to one cup. My family likes a lot of gravy/sauce so I did not reduce the liquid, however, I did thicken it with flour which enabled it to stay on the pasta. I rated this with 5 STARS, although it Rated a 10 at our dinner table. Thanks Nan for sharing.☺
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Wonderful recipe in every way. I included turkey breast slices along with the veal because my husband doesn't eat beef. Served it with angel hair pasta (dressed with a small amount butter, a little extra virgin olive oil, a touch of garlic and a few shavings of parmesan cheese.) Three of us polished off 6 servings! I added a little more garlic and forgot the finishing butter, but no matter--we're going to have this often (when we're not counting calories!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This is better than most restaurants. I've made it twice and got rave reviews both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This recipe was great. I also cut the broth down to 1 and 1/2 cups from 3 cups. Made plenty of sauce and sprinkled about 1 tspb. of flour to thicken in order to speed up the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANETTESIMCOX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Very good marsala! If scaling to make larger amounts, you will need to either reduce the amount of broth or thicken the sauce. I didn't add butter and it still turned out great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
The recipe was fine until the sauce preparation phase. It took forever to reduce 3 cups of liquid to 1/4 cup, I finally threw out almost all the sauce in an attempt to get it to thicken but it did not work. The meat was fine but unless you have lots of time to make the sauce reduction I would stay away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This is outstanding dish. My wife thinks I'm culinary expert after this one. It did take longer than expected for liquid to reduce. I will cut down amount of broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
THis was a great recipe, and pretty easy. I read it wrong (and after reading the reviews, i think that was a good thing. I didn't reduce it down to 1/4 cup, I reduced it to 1/4 of it's original 4 cups of liquid. This left 1 cup of suace, which was perfect to cover the veal, and the pasta I made to go with it. It was a thin sauce, but it was thicker than the broth was originally, and I made sure it had cooled enough so the butter thickened it and didn't get greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Very good. I followed directions exactly but I also ended up thickening the sauce as other reviewers mentioned with flour to make the process go faster. The sauce was so good. Thanks Nan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States