Classic Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
You cannot expect to reduce 3 cups of broth and a cup of wine to 1/4 cup unless you have 1 hr to cook. Add Marsala and stir in juices from the veal, heavy cream and butter. Forget the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was very, very good. I'll cook it a few more times before it's finally delicious. I did not change the recipe, except that I used Land O'Lakes "Fresh Buttery Spread" instead of butter, and I did not use any flour or cornstarch because I wanted a low-carb version. I also failed to use low-sodium beef and chicken broth, and that made a big difference because I did reduce the sauce all the way down to about half a cup, and so the sauce, though very, very good, was salty. Next time, I will definitely use low-sodium stock. Also, when I remake this (and I definitely will), I will add the mushrooms (which I always sautee separately) after reducing the sauce, and I will sautee the veal at the end. Keeping the veal in the oven did seem to make it just a tad less tender, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Hubby, and I loved this meal! Did'nt change a thing. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
The flavor was delicious and my husband and I loved it. I served it over egg noodles. I made the mistake of NOT using low sodium broth, and it was too salty, so the noodles toned that down some. I agree with other raters about the reduction. After 30 minutes it didn't look like it was going to thicken or reduce a whole lot, so I added a little flour, reduced to about 1 to 1 1/2 cups, and I needed that much as we love sauce. Thank you for the recipe, my first time making marsala and I will make this a regular part of my meals now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was so easy to make and was a huge it in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. I was not able to find veal so I used 1 1/2 pounds of chicken breast pieces and it turned out great! The Marsala gave a rich flavor and mushroom sauce was superb. I added cornstarch to some broth and thickened the sauce, intentionally keeping the sauce from reducing as a lot of sauce is much better than almost no sauce. If anything, more broth should be added so the sauce is plentiful. I skipped the addition of butter at the end as totally unnecessary. I served the chicken Marsala adjacent to olive-oiled and parmesan covered tri-color noodles. For dessert: creme brule. Wish you were here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Loved this recipe! Probably the best Marsala I've ever made. I will be trying it again soon with chicken. Definitely do NOT reduce the sauce down to 1/4 cup, though. It's just not enough sauce. I reduced to about a cup and still wish I had had more! Will probably reduce to 1 1/2 cups next time. Also, I was thinking about omiting the butter at the end but ended up leaving it. Definitely a good idea because finishing the sauce with the butter is the perfect touch! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
My husband could not get enough of this veal. I didn't use chicken broth as I didn't have it on hand. I used all beef broth. Really really excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Very good. I followed directions exactly but I also ended up thickening the sauce as other reviewers mentioned with flour to make the process go faster. The sauce was so good. Thanks Nan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
THis was a great recipe, and pretty easy. I read it wrong (and after reading the reviews, i think that was a good thing. I didn't reduce it down to 1/4 cup, I reduced it to 1/4 of it's original 4 cups of liquid. This left 1 cup of suace, which was perfect to cover the veal, and the pasta I made to go with it. It was a thin sauce, but it was thicker than the broth was originally, and I made sure it had cooled enough so the butter thickened it and didn't get greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States