Classic Veal Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
We are actually Big Veal Marsala lovers in my house and this recipe got a thumbs up! I liked using the shallots instead of onions, makes for a sweeter flavor. I also added a slice of prosciutto ham on each piece of veal after pounding. I used toothpicks to keep it in place. I would suggest this to HUNGRYJOHN to cut down on the sweet and add some salty flavor. It was delicious and pretty quick to make. Thanks for the recipe, Nan! Will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I made this with pork and found it easy to make and to cut in half since there are only two of us. My wife's reaction was, "This is way too sweet; I don't like sweet meat," so I guess I won't be making it again, but if the sweetness isn't a problem for you, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
very good recipe, but allow much more time for the reduction of the broth esp if you scale the recipe up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent sauce! Followed recipe as written, except I did not wait till the sauce reduced so much, because I wanted to serve it on top of egg noodles, too. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Although the basic ingredients in this recipe are great, following the instructions and amounts exactly would yield an undesirable result. I agree with another reviewer, who felt that it would take much longer than 30 min. to reduce 2 cups of chicken stock, 1 cup of beef stock, and 1 cup of marsala. I omitted 1 cup of stock, and it still took over 30 min. to reduce it to a suitable thickness. The recipe calls for way too much flour for dredging the veal, but fortunately you will need to add some of it to your scrapings in your pan in order to thicken this much liquid. Of course, one could just reduce the sauce longer, but the problem is that the veal is sitting in the oven the whole time, and will be shockingly overdone by then. I would avoid reducing or omitting the butter from the sauce, as this creats a great velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Best veal I've had/made in a long time. Thanks for the tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This recipe is a classic. I make this often for special occasions. I only use beef broth and not as much as is stated in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I used sweet Marsala instead of dry and only 1 cup of chicken broth - it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I've made this dish several times and I really like this simple recipe. I made some minor changes: I added 2 cups of Marsala and 2 cups of Beef Broth only (no chicken broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was fantastic. I made this when I had the family over for my daughters 1st birthday, lots of compliments. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States