Classic Tuna Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Don't laugh! But I hadn't made this recipe since i was a newlywed in 1976. It was the rage in the 70's. I decided to make it the other night. I made a double recipe. I made a few changes though. Along with the peas, noodles, milk, and tuna fish, I used one can of celery soup and one can of mushroom soup (I can only handle so much of mushroom soup), I also added 2 cups of cheese to the recipe and mixed it in. I chopped one large onion up and added it to the recipe and used Lawry's garlic salt and pepper to season it. I loaded the top with bread crumbs. It was fabulous. Now that I'm unemployed I will make this more often. Very economical meal! Great classic base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webberville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
With a few changes, this is a great base recipe. I make it all the time. Just add a little sour cream and a little more milk. Some granulated garlic, salt, pepper and cheese right in the mix. I serve it with peas and kinda mix them in on my plate. (my son hates peas or I would put them right in when cooking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunee'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Takes me back to the 1950s. The Campbell's recipe at time called for Cream of Mushroom soup & to top with crushed potato chips and then sprinkle with ground thyme. The chips and thyme added crunch & taste. I'm making this for dinner tonight! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great base recipe from the past! Just swap out ingredients to your hearts desire. Chicken or ham for the tuna, the cream of whatever soup to change your flavor, 1 tomato & 1 cream of, gives a nice sauce if you use ground beef or turkey. This is the original 'Helper" before you could buy it in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe to build upon! I added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, oregano and thyme, as there were no seasonings given...turned out great. I also substituted fat free sour cream for the milk, which worked great. Definitely a must in the dinner line-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiel, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was certainly not the best Tuna Noodle Casserole I've had. It wasn't creamy enough for my taste. I would suggest swaping the cream of celery for cream of mushroom and perhaps adding a can & 1/2. Also top with All Spice for a tasty finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CundysHarborGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harpswell, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I grew up eating tuna & noodle casserole and my children have grown up eating it also. It's still a family favorite. I've always used 1 can Cream of Mushroom soup and 1/2 can milk and 3-4 slices of cheese (I use Kraft singles). It's never turned out dry. Always creamy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great base recipe. Great as it is but you can spice it up by adding flavors to your family's taste. DO NOT GIVE A RECIPE A LOW RATING BC YOU DIDN'T FOLLOW THE RECIPE AND IT TURNED OUT BAD. Several morons used the wrong noodles or over cooked and then blamed the recipe. That's operator error! So sick of that all over this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I added a 3rd can of tuna as it seems the cans have gotten smaller. This is a good base recipe that does need some salt. Next time I prepare it I plan to add more seasonings to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this tonight using Ronzoni's Healthy Harvest Whole Grain Noodles. It didn't come out the way I would have hoped. Maybe it was the whole grain noodles. The casserole was dry and not creamy. Perhaps it needed more milk or more canned soup. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States