Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Just a reply to MCCREARY74's comment about the Ladyfingers being so hard. When I first made Tiramisu (a different recipe), I went to my local supermarket and bought the only type of Ladyfingers they offered. They were hard as rocks (like Stella D'oro breakfast cookies), and even had a picture of Tiramisu on the package (No, they weren't just stale). You need to buy the soft variety. I have not come across a Tiramisu recipe that distinguishes between the two kinds of Ladyfingers. My Ladyfingers did not absorb the liquids when following the directions to dip them for just a few seconds--and turned out unpleasantly chewy. Hope this info helps avert a first time flop for some Tiramisu lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
770 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This was EXCELLENT! I can't even begin to tell you how amazing this Tiramisu is. I have some points to make, 1. it's EASY, 2. It's great that the eggs are cooked, 3. I didn't add any vanilla at all even though I was worried that since there were 6 egg yolks it will have this eggy smell, but it didn't, 4. I only used espresso and no coffee liquer (1/2 cup water and 2 tbsp of coffee), 5. I chilled the bowl that I was planning on beating the whipping cream in, make sure to get the whipping cream that looks like a milk carton in teh fridges, and not the 'whipped' cream. 6. Mascarpone cheese isn't hard to find but it's expensive $8.99., 7. Make sure to use the soft lady fingers, if you go to a large grocery store you wont' have a hard time finding them, I bought 3 10 oz packages, 8. I refrigerated the mascarpone/egg mix while I was beating the whipping cream. 9. And this might be helpful, use a cheese cake pan, chill it, and the next morning you can just pop the tiramisu out. It looked beuatiful! I decorated it with some fresh raspberries and slices of strawberries, shredded chocolate and dusted cocoa powder. Took it to work and everyone oooed and aahhhed at it. It tasted very very good!!!! Keeper! By the way, it's important you chill over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
622 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This is awesome! Same recipie fromback of the ladyfinger package, except they gave a wonderful substitute for the marcapone cheese, it's one 8 oz package of cream cheese, 1/4 cup sour cream and 2 tbs heavy cream, whipped together...this was the best dessert I've ever made! I brushed on really potent coffee, no alcohol, and it was a great, light, coffee and chocolate taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
430 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
My friends love this Tiramisu and I love serving it. I substitute the Mascarpone cheese with 8oz of cream cheese, one-fourth cup heavy cream and 3 tablespoons of sour cream. I use 2, 3oz packs of soft ladyfingers (bought from the bakery section of the local Kroger). I don't use coffee liquer, so I substitute with espresso (half cup water + 2 tablespoons instant coffee). Serve it in a 3QT dish. Suggest keeping this dessert in the fridge overnight. This Tiramisu is divine - thank you Carol for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I have made this many times, LOVE it and get tons of compliments!!! Here is a summary of the tips I use from other reviewers: 1. I scale the recipe to 10 servings so I can just use the 8 oz. container of mascarpone cheese. 2. I use the Savoiardi style hard ladyfingers, buy them in a 17.5 oz. Package (which has 60 ladyfingers) and use about 32. I do not split the ladyfingers. Also, I have used the soft ones from Trader Joes but do not like the result as much. 3. I like to layer the dessert in a loaf shape. Yes, your "filling" should be thick enough to do this! I sometimes use two 9.5 c “Ziploc” containers and make two, 2-layer desserts 2-go or 2-gift! 4. I use a hand-held electric mixer when cooking the egg yolks & sugar (for the full 10 min. on low heat). 5. I refrigerate the mascarpone mix while beating the HEAVY whipping cream, in a chilled bowl, until it is super stiff. 5. Instead of the Kahlua, I make two 6 oz. cups of extra strong coffee (4 TBSP coffee per 6 oz water). I dunk the ladyfingers completely, but quickly, in the coffee. 6. It is even better a day or two later and has a wonderful ice-cream quality if you can freeze/thaw it before serving! Thanks so much for the recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
It is wonderful! But mascarpone cheese is really expensive, i found a substitute... 8 oz cream cheese 2 tsp of sour cream and 2 tsp of heavy cream combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ryalibertino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
excellent recipe!!!! rave reviews from everyone!!! i found that i had to 1/2 the sugar. also, the double boiler must be on the lowest heat setting!! too high will cause the egg to cook and clump, and must be cooked for the full 10 minutes, otherwise sugar grains will appear in your tiramisu. also i accidentally went out of order the first time and whipped the cream first. bad idea. the whole tiramisu came out runny (as the whipped cream had slightly melted). the tiramisu consistency highly depends on the whipped cream consistency!!!! excellent recipe, have made a dozen times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I always end up with more lady fingers than I need to make this dessert. Not a problem since I just pop them in my mouth as I'm making the dessert. But since they're kinda expensive to buy, I'll be using the recipe for ladyfingers by roxanne. I always end up using more mascarpone cheese, than called for. So much creamier. And I always use lots of kahlua. Wonderful presentation and always get rave reviews. Thank you for the recipe!! One reviewer had problem whipping the cream. The first time I made this recipe I had the same problem. The solution for me has been to use heavy whipping cream instead of heavy cream. It will never turn to curd no matter how long you beat it and you don't have to watch out for the split second between cream and curd the way you have to with regular heavy cream. You should be able to find whipping cream in the same row as the heavy creams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Oh man... I'm pretty sure tiramisu will be waiting for us in Heaven. I used the ladyfinger recipe from this site and sliced them in half longways, like a hot dog bun. I used a pyrex 9" x 13" pan. I made a single layer of ladyfingers, poured some of the coffee liquer on top, then the whipped cream/cheese mixure, and repeated this two more times. I do like my tiramisu to be really wet with the coffee flavor, so I made an additional cup of coffee, added an enthusiastic amount of french vanilla creamer (2-3 T I guess), let it cool down a bit, and poured it over top the top layer of ladyfiners, before making the last layer of whipped cream & cheese. I let it sit in the fridge overnight before serving. It was delicious!!!! My friend said it was some of the best tiramisu he's ever had. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This recipe was beyond great! I made it in a bowl for a school meeting and everyone raved. I used strong coffee mixed with 1 - 2 TBSP. of rum to LIGHTLY dip one side of the cookies in(I didn't have any Kahlua on hand). Only one correction though. At least with the ladyfingers in my store, the recipe should call for two 3 ounce packages of ladyfingers with 12 cookies in each package. NOT two 12 ounce packages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States