Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We have made this recipe many times and love it. We have used both types of lady fingers. They are not always easy to find. We actually line our pan/trifle with the ladyfingers and use a turkey baster and brush to spread the expresso/kahlua mixture we make. The ingredients can be expensive but a couple of tips: if you have a trader joe's, they have the mascarpone cheese and the heavy whipping cream for a fraction of the cost. Near the holidays, they even carry the lady fingers. They don't have them for too long so go in when you can and stock up. It was about 1/3 of the cost at the local Italian market. We make this recipe for people and we always have the nicest thank you's. People love it. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Late reviewing this--had this for mothers day and it was better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Great news everyone, you can make your own mascarpone cheese at a fraction of the price and it tastes great, easy too. However you have to make it at least one day before making your tiramisu. In a double boiler bring one quart of heavy cream to 90 degrees farenheight (takes about ten minutes). Stir often to keep the cream from scorching. Add one tablespoon of tartaric acid, (or try one tablespoon of lemon or lime juice or one tablespoon of vinegar). Let cool. Keep stirring until you begin to see separation of whey (clear liquid). Line a sieve with three layers of cheese cloth or three coffee filters and place sieve over a pot or bowl. Pour cream inti sieve and cover. Place in fridge overnight to allow the whey to drain. The next day, vola, you have mascarpone cheese. Peel away filter and place cheese in an airtight container till ready to use. Use within five days. I suggest you google this and or watch you tube videos. Now for my rating, great recipe but way too much sugar and I do have a sweet tooth. Will definatly make again but less sweet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Upon reading some of the reviews, I have decided to buy the Savoiardi style hard ladyfingers and dipped them quickly into the espresso mixture instead of brushing the espresso mixture onto the ladyfinger's for a more intense taste. As for Mascarpone cheese, I too, followed the rest of reviewers of substituting it with one 8 oz package of cream cheese, 1/4 cup sour cream and 2 tbsp of heavy cream, whipped together. I then refrigerated the mascarpone/egg mixture while I was beating the whipping cream. . And lastly, I poured the mixture onto a cheese cake pan and proceeded to chill it overnight. The result? Rave compliments from colleagues and friends all over! This is certainly a keeper recipe!!! Thanks Carol:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This recipe calls for 2 (12 oz packages) of lady fingers, which would be 24 ounces. We got 6 packages which amounted half the weight required. We had way to many lady fingers. In comparing other recipes the lady fingers are soaked in coffee to make it moist. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
100% delicious. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Made this for my son's 12th birthday...at his request (tiramisu is one of his favorite desserts) and we all loved it! That included my husband who said he wouldn't like it because he hates coffee...and then loved it so much he was a little greedy eating 3 bowls! But in all fairness he has never liked any that we've tried in restaurants. My son keeps asking me when I'm going to make it again. I'm going to have to soon. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Made Tiramisu for the 1st time using this recipe and it was so very simple with no fuss at all! Although I must say that I was pretty sure I used more than 80ml of coffee liqueur which is fine by me. :) I brought this dessert to a family dinner and received rave reviews! Absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is a must try for those who have yet to make their own Tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This tiramisu was absolutely lovely. I baked my own lady fingers using another recipe, and I love how the eggs are actually cooked in this one! I substituted mascarpone with cream cheese, and it turned out just as good, if not better. I also added some coffee to the whipped cream AFTER it was already whipped, and it gave the cake more of a coffee flavour which I found very nice. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States