Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
No way can you skip mascarpone in this!! It's so uniquely rich and wonderful... it will take this recipe over the top! My only change was to mix strong coffee with the liquer. I tried the recipe as-written and had a chef-friend critique...after adding the suggested strong coffee to the liquer, it really made a wonderful difference. --A fabulous recipe otherwise! Made for a big birthday party and everyone raved! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I have never tried nor made tiramisu in my life and i gave this recipe and a go and it turned out amazing. i was licking my plate clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is very good and very easy. I'd venture that it is a bit cloyingly sweet, and I only used 1 cup of sugar in the recipe. My biggest complaint is that it lacks that espresso flavour so desirable in a genuine tiramisu, and so I would suggest incorporating an unsweetened coffee or cafe mocha swirl into the mascarpone/whipped cream mixture (fold it in so it makes the swirl effect, rather than blending completely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Excellent! It was very easy to make. My geusts were thrilled and asked for more! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I love this desert and my family does too!! I have made it numerous times for parties and family and always get rave reviews. We move alot, and sometimes I have a hard time finding lady fingers where I live. Sometimes, I can't even find the hard ones everyone talks about! Once, I ended up substituting the lady fingers with chocolate biscotti and it worked out really well! I know its not traditional, but it tasted fantastic! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Oh, WOW! I made this and let it sit in the refrigerator for 24 hours. It was incredible tasting and very easy. I could not get over how many oohs and ahhs this dish got from everyone who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meryetamen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
WOW! This was great. I used the ladyfinger reciped from this site and they were quick to make. Coffee liquor is essential! It adds the flavor. I used the whole pint of the whipping cream ( I didn't want to throw away 1/4 cup) It tasted good after about 10 hours in the fridge but was definitely better the next day as others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This recipe was AMAZING. I had never made Tiramisu before and it turned out great. In fact, I made it only because my brother brought back wine from italy so i was making an italian dinner and didn't even really like tiramisu. BUT NOW I am stuck on it. It was perfect and a total hit!!! Definatly make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Having never made a Tiramisu, I decided to try this recipe after looking over many others. Good decision as this was absolutely delicious (according to everyone who tried it). I took the advice of one reviewer and cut back the amount of mascarpone cheese and sugar to 1 cup each, since the mascarpone in my store comes in 8-oz. containers only. I used strong coffee mixed with a little Kahlua on the ladyfingers. While no one complained about the taste, I personally think it might be better with espresso or strong coffee only. I will also "baste" the ladyfingers lightly with the coffee. The texture and taste were wonderful. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATCAT9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was very rich. I brought the egg & sugar mixture up to 160 ° F to make sure the eggs were safe to use. I also use "Mascarpone Substitute" in place of regular mascarpone which in & of itself worked well. The ratio of lady fingers to filling resulted in too little filling in the finished product so I only used about 1-1/2 packages of lady fingers. Even that adjustment still seemed to produce a tiramisu heavy on the lady fingers. I'd use a lot more cocoa next time since that flavor was lost in the end. Using a large glass bowl was awkward with the size & shape of the lady fingers. I think a rectangular glass baking dish would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States