Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Rave reviews at a potluck. I made it in my trifle bowl and needed a double recipe to fill it. Next time I will add the kalua in to strong instant coffee ( didn't have any instant coffee this time) I too made it 2 days ahead. I have had a request to make it again for a gathering this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was my first attempt at making tiramisu. I made no changes to the recipe at all and it was FANTASTIC. I couldnt resist and tasted it as soon as it was chilled, and it was good but was much better the next 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Incredible! (with changes) Per other reviewers, scaled recipe to 10 servings to perfectly use the 8oz container of mascarpone cheese. Made my own espresso instead of using liqueur. Cooked TWO DAYS IN ADVANCE and chilled it all that time. Brushing espresso on the cookies didn't work out well. Dipped them instead, but they have to be dipped FAST or they just fall apart. Also, line the bottom of the pan first, then the sides, as that will help the cookies not fall over on themselves once they are soaked and getting soggy. My friend I made it for said it was the best Tiramisu she'd had outside if Italy! I think the advance preparation and two-day chill time allowed the flavors to really deepen. I used a springform cheesecake pan, which made it easy to serve and look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This came out a bit eggy and too light for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
It never actually set (which was a giant disappointment), but I'll give you props for its maintaining marvelousness in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great recipe! It came out delicious. I added a 1/2 cup of Marsala sweet wine gradually to the egg yolk mixture while it was on the double broiler. Try it! It gives it amazing flavor. Also I just dunked the ladyfingers in instant dark coffee with 1 tablespoon of the wine. If your serving kids I would just make another small batch for them sans the wine. I don't think I would make without the wine though it adds such a gourmet flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Navarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great recipe!!! Tastes just like at the restaurants. I just made this for my husband's birthday and have never made a tiramisu before and it is wonderful. I followed some of the recommendations from other users. I didn't like the thought of using only coffee liqueur to moisten the lady fingers but did want to use some so I made a combination of strong coffee (4 tbsp instant coffee to 6 oz hot water) and about a 1/4 cup of the coffee liqueur and dipped the ladyfingers in the mixture. I placed them in a trifle bowl and it looks beautiful! I also followed the other suggestions about chilling the bowl for whipping the whipping cream and also chilled the marscapone and egg mixture while whipping the cream. It all came out beautifully! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Easy recipe! As far as ladyfingers, these can be found in the deli/bakery area of your local grocery stores. Mascarpone can be found in the deli section at Super Target for $3.19/8oz. pkg. in the Orlando area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this a few days ago and it was wonderful! I used a recipe for ladyfingers on here, and used strong coffee instead of liquer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
to make it a real classic tiramisu you missed the amaretto and one uses fresh ground coffee beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States